Archive for January 31st, 2012

SNAIL MAIL ADDED IDEA

Since we are Peeps, and thus can make our own rules.

Some people are expressing doubts that they can actually manage trips to post offices and all.

But, for me, I don’t see that as a problem with respect to me sending them stuff anyway.

Therefore, I may add an addendum of addresses of people who may or may not manage to mail stuffs, but would be happy to receive stuff. (And weren’t we all taught it is better to give than to receive?)

In which case if you were one of those people, wanna send me your address information, and I’ll put you in the Special Quasi Category? Same drill, lauowolf at gmail dot com.

 

Snail Mail – Tuesday afternoon

I still need address information from these people who have expressed interest:

Lurker,

Geologygirl, and

Lavendarsbluedillydilly.

AND anyone else who wants onto the list. Though I expect I will probably end up sending additional updated stuff in another week or so, for any stragglers.

Soooooo. To repeat procedure:

1) I will send everybody an email tomorrow, giving the names of people who are interested in getting mail. If you don’t want to be on this email, tell me asap. (For example, one person knows exactly who should get the address info, so I won’t even list that person’s name on this email to other people.) If you have privacy issues about being on this group list of names only, TELL ME NAOW!

2) Everyone will respond to that email, like immediately, with their privacy information. Of course.

3) I will organize like a mad organizing person, checking everything at least twice, and then mail everyone their appropriate list, as soon as I can.

I may not get this all done by February 1st. I suggest, then, if you want to do the entire February Challenge of mailing stuff every day, that you start off with your own personal list. Lurker, being brilliant, is going to work off her Christmas card list. And we should all, I think, send something to the Muse of the Project:

Mary Robinette Kowal
P.O. Box 13346
Portland, OR 97213-0346

Anyway, if you are interested, and have not yet sent me your information, please send it to my email:  lauowolf at gmail dot com.

Tutoring, Reading Groups, People?

From Sister4:

Do you know somebody who deals with a group of 20 teenagers or adults who do not read much?

(That is, somebody who is part of a group that does tutoring or mentoring for High Schoolers? A scout leader. A church group.  Your old fraternity.  A parole officer.)

You can get 20 free books to give to these 20 people.  You just have to pick them up.
The publisher sends them to a nearby library or bookstore.  The group sends somebody to pick up the stack of books on a particular day.  Then they commit to handing them out to 20 people.

Info at    http://www.us.worldbooknight.org