Moar little fishes

I added a half-dozen panda corys. They are a little disoriented. There were like forty of them in the pet store tank. So in my bigger, all planted up tank they can actually lose track of each other. I think I have to get more.

But it is so cute – the golden minnows keep coming down into the plants and staring at them.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Panda corys are cute! I’m glad you bought a little school of them so they won’t be lonely in their new tank. No pictures?

    Reply

    • I think I’m going to go by and get a few more.
      They really do like to be in a bunch, and six aren’t enough.

      I’ll try to get a picture soon.

      Reply

  2. “There goes the neighborhood …”

    Really, though, I imagine them thinking, “Where the heck did they come from? I’ve looked all over this place and never seen any other fish! No – KAZAM – there they are! This tank must be a lot bigger than I think.”

    (Probably, though, more along the lines of making sure any “newbies” aren’t big enough to eat him …)

    Reply

  3. The golden minnows seem very mellow.
    I was actually surprised that they noticed, since mostly they just seem to swim back and forth.
    It all seemed very friendly though, with no chasing, just looking.

    I’m trying very hard not to get any overly aggressive fish, but the descriptions are sometimes coded.
    My guess is “playful” and “nipping” mean all the other fish hide.
    I’m trying to avoid “territorial” as well.
    And “will eat anything smaller than they are” seems pretty clear.

    The last tank I had loaches.
    They were lovely and active, but they bullied the hell out of my poor corys.
    So no loaches this time.

    Reply

  4. It is always hard to know. I’m still in debate about what to do with my now almost dry tank. I am still thinking of a larger terrarium, as it seems less labor intensive, but your posts are encouraging me to think on fish again….I was actually thinking of getting a few from the lake I swim in, they aren’t endangered or anything and then it would be a natural florida tank, but…the little fishes might become huge too..

    Reply

    • I’m really enjoying it.
      And I’m hoping that the planted aquarium thing may be a bit more low-maintenance – we’ll see.
      Hmmmm.. What kind of fish are swimming in your lake?

      Reply

  5. Sounds like fun! My cichlid tank is clearing….finally!

    Reply

    • Are cichlid’s feisty?
      I’m looking for another fish to fit in with the minnows, neons, and corys, but I want to avoid getting a bully in with all these sweet guys.

      Reply

      • Nooo, do not put a cichlid in with the other fish! They will attack and chase them, or eat the minnows for a snack. I used to keep a tank of cichlids but tired of them because they started cannibalizing each other. I was particularly disturbed when they began eating their own offspring. I know many fish will do that sort of thing, but the cichlids were especially ruthless and would eat all of the babies almost as soon as they were born.

        Reply

      • Aaaaah! I am glad HG answered you right away! Noooooo. Do not get cichlids! Lol. We had one pair, they ate everyone else in the tank and then had 50 babies. So, unless they start eating each other I have a tank full of nasty cichlids!

        Reply

  6. Okay, cichilds are right out.
    If I need that kind of thing I can go watch Game of Thrones.
    The fish tank is for quiet meditation.

    Reply

  7. Gouramis, anyone?

    Reply

    • Gouramis are chill, as my son would say. Just make sure you get no more than one male. Like bettas, they’re territorial and males will fight each other until one leaves or dies. Hm, this thread is beginning to sound like an episode of Game of Thrones.

      Reply

  8. Are you going to be home Sunday after 4? Because we might (emphasis MIGHT) be able to come by and look at the fishies and water reclamation.

    Reply

    • Yes, we should be here, and fishes.
      Sounds like a plan.
      And if it doesn’t work, that’s okay, fishes and water will all still be here another day.

      Reply

  9. pics or it didn’t happen!~

    Reply

  10. We saw Lurkers, who got to see fish tank AND water barrels.
    (No dancing girls this time.)
    And only half the cats: Habibi, Nikki, and Sextus put in appearances.
    And – had we but known it – Sisko slept through the whole thing in the other room, unnoticed.
    Grey cats get away with stuff like that.

    And there was fava bean harvesting, so now I can cover the garden with hay for the summer.

    Reply

    • The fishies are all very cute. I wish we’d known about Sisko, but Habibi and Nikki were delightfully fluffy. Nikki really needed to be admired and was disappointed that we had been clued in on the whole “Nikki isn’t allowed outdoors any more” thing.

      Reply

      • The one time he got out I had to follow him around for almost an hour before I could manage to catch him. He’s very savvy. We walked and walked. I think basically he went everywhere he wanted and then got a free ride home.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

