Found in the news…. srsly?

Look out for warning signs of Alzheimer’s disease this holiday

By: Amy Lipman
Posted: Fri 6:16 PM, Dec 27, 2013

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. The more holiday seasons spent with elderly loved ones, the more likely they are to develop Alzheimer’s disease.
“When adult kids and grandkids come home for the holidays, they start to notice some subtle changes perhaps in their parents and grandparents,” said Laurie Frasier, director of Senior Daybreak at Hilltop. “They notice that their memory isn’t what it used to be.”

http://www.kjct8.com/home/headlines/Look-out-for-warning-signs-of-Alzheimers-disease-this-holiday-237667001.html

I don’t think that first sentence means what you think it means.
Either that, or maybe you kids should stay home this year.

22 responses to this post.

  1. Pah. “News.”
    Any youthful moron can write a couple of paragraphs and call it news now.
    That was just stupid and useless. The kids want to write down anything I say, I’ll be writing down everything they say.

    They repeat and forget as much as I do. At least for now.

    Come on, Almost-seniors. Let’s kick some ass.

    Reply

  2. I love the suggestion of causality.
    Not, the more the kids visit the more likely they will notice dementia, but the more the kids visit, the more likely parents will develop dementia.
    Eek

    Reply

  3. My experience was that I noticed on a daily basis when my mother was diminishing in her mental capacities. BUT, my sister (who also lives here in town) claimed to not notice anything. When my eldest sister deigned to make one of her every-five-years-or-so visits, she DID notice. In all honesty, I think they both noticed … and also noticed that there was a pattern to it all – my mom, my mom’s sister, my mom’s mother … possibly my mom’s daughters?

    But, yeah this is just crappy writing.

    Reply

  4. It is like there are no more editors.

    Reply

  5. Wtf?! Well…duh! The more you go home the more you’re gonna notice changes. What a genius! Let’s stop visiting so our parents won’t develop alzheimeir’s?

    Reply

    • Posted by SingingTuna on February 18, 2014 at 9:31 am

      CARLISA!!!!!! You’re here! How’re you doing?
      (it’s RobbieDobbie…LOL)
      ::waves a bag of Reeses::

      Reply

      • She’s on FB too, I think a bit more often than here?
        I can send you a link.

        Reply

        • Posted by SingingTuna on February 18, 2014 at 11:38 am

          Oh, thank you!
          🙂
          Is she here-here? As in posting? I keep an account on FB just so I can stay current with the cat rescue people from whom I adopted Pickles and Mila but I never use it otherwise.

          Reply

        • Posted by SingingTuna on February 18, 2014 at 11:40 am

          BTW, I finally set up a Skype account and have been using it. VERY cool.
          Do you think anyone around here is on there?

          Reply

  6. Really? Holiday visiting causes Alzheimers? I’ll never visit my folks for Happy Hallowthankamas again!
    Come on, you guys! My eleven year old can write a better news article than that!

    Reply

  7. What happened to good old-fashioned editing…. I wonder if writers re-read their sentences – though perhaps they do and just don’t notice how funny/weird/incorrect it is.

    Reply

  8. They don’t teach this stuff in school anymore. Seriously, I learned more formal grammar in foreign language classes than I ever did in English class.

    Reply

  9. I’m guessing some overworked general news writer was handed a wire service article and told, “Here, make this a local feature….” She didn’t actually read the article and was rushing to meet deadline, so that.

    I saw the original AP article without the goofy intro and sighed, “Indeed.” But I would suggest the young’uns run away as fast as they can when they realize Grandma has become senile. It might not be catching, but they don’t want to get stuck with the responsibility of looking after the old dear. *sigh, deep sigh*

    Reply

    • Obviously, if you don’t see it, it isn’t happening.
      Yes, poor thing wanted to get off to her own family – pretty clear she didn’t give this one even a second look-over.
      and
      RUN AWAY!

      Reply

  10. I’ve just nominated you for The Sunshine Blog Award!!
    If there’s anyone deserving of it, it’s you.

    The Sunshine Award Rules:
    Post a picture of the Sunshine Award
    Post 11 random facts about yourself
    Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you
    Nominate 11 bloggers.
    Write 11 questions for them to answer
    Let the nominated blogger(s) know you have nominated them

    Reply

  11. Posted by SingingTuna on February 18, 2014 at 9:37 am

    Yet another reason I’m [sort of] glad I’m running out of loved ones. No visits? No Alzheimer’s!
    Splendid!

    Ugh. I despair for humanity. What are people learning in schools now? How to duck when a gun is pointed at them in class? What are children being taught by their parents? How to order the latest carp online and then blab about it to their thousands of friends who don’t know them at all?

    But: LOL!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

