And it continues

I emailed the new tenant, reassuring her that the parking space is to be shared, and that the upstairs tenants had been so notified.
So this is what I get back:

“We are not asking to have the parking spot for us only. We just want an equal right. We proposed to use the parking space every other week. We found out that there is free parking on Telegraph after Alcatraz. That is where we have it now. It takes around 15 minutes to walk to the house. We find it unfair that if the parking is meant to be shared, and more than one tenant have a similar problem, only one benefits from the space.”
 
Of course, the space is to be shared, that is the deal.
And, of course, that is only fair.
But you don’t have to sound like a five-year-old about it.
Especially after the problem is already solved.
I feel a Doctor McCoyesque “Damn it, I’m a landlady, not a kindergarten teacher” rant coming on soon, if this keeps up.
10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Msmouse7 on January 8, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Sounds like a no-win situation. You already explained to her (again). She is either stupid or just likes to have the last word. So ignore further responses to her whining about parking and just refer her back to your recent email explaining it all. Maybe repetition will help her poor little brain.
    You have my sympathy; I hate dealing with people like that.

    Reply

  2. You have a hugely entitled tenant. Ugh. I don’t envy her professors, if she is a student. And I especially don’t envy her fellow tenants. She sounds like someone who’d go berserk because she could hear the plumbing running after ten o’clock, or someone sneezing in the entryway. (I once had a neighbor in a building I lived in who was like that.)

    Maybe you should pay her to move out.

    Reply

  3. I wouldn’t even respond. “Am ignoring.” Let her sit in her own embarassment.

    Reply

  4. Well everyone knows the situation and they are adults and they can work it out for themselves. Not your problem. They’re lucky there is a free parking space at the place at all.

    Reply

    • Yep.
      I’ve done all I can do, it is now up to them to play well together.
      I do feel a bit bad about the upstairs girls though.
      I didn’t mean to add a soap opera to the building.

      Reply

  5. This is why I could never be anybody’s landlord.

    And I’m wondering how many times your husband has heard, “YOUR tenant is whining again!”? lol

    Reply

    • I am restraining myself SO HARD.
      Because it’s not his fault.
      It was great for him to take charge of the renting, considering I was still shuffling around, tethered to the oxygen machine at that point.
      He has a get-out-of-jail-free card on this one.
      (But I will confess that the thought does cross my mind.)

      Reply

  6. Posted by SingingTuna on February 17, 2013 at 8:39 am

    “Damn it, I’m a landlady, not a kindergarten teacher”
    Trying not to giggle while I send ((hugs))
    How’s everything going with this? I hope things are quiet.
    (It’s Robin — “Robpixaday” — I’m using another account bec my main one is just too crowded with people I don’t know…LOL)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

