Unintended Benefit

Of being off to the hospital.
I now have two obsessively attendant cats.

Doc has always liked me.
(I think he prefers Sair, over all, but she is mostly off at school, or visiting Australia, or otherwise being a disappointment to a worthy tabby.)
Tom just told me that when I was away in the hospital, Doc would come in searching for me and leave in dismay when I was still missing.
Since I got back, he comes in at 4am every morning and settles on my chest with much satisfaction.
I get the feeling that he is monitoring me, suspecting me of plans to become unreliable.

Sisko is my friend Laura’s cat that we inherited.
He’d always been a one-person cat, and has been rather like a visitor for four years now, rather than one of our lot.
But he is now my one-person cat.
He has sat on my feet ever since I got home, day and night.
When he comes back in from eating, he curls up leaning against me, and purrs himself to sleep.
He is the best medicinal cat ever.
I guess he didn’t get the chance to nurse Other Laura back to health, but he can take care of me.
I am entirely honored.

19 responses to this post.

  1. “..suspecting me of plans to become unreliable.” Fantastic way of putting it! I’m glad you have your anipals to look after you ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you continue to feel better!

    Reply

  2. Animals can do wonders for one’s recovery. I hope you are feeling much better now than when you first got home.

    Reply

  3. Awwwww. Such good kitties! They are the best hot water bottles cuz they purr and are happy, too!

    Reply

  4. Oh lovely! I especially love hearing about Sisko nursing you back to health.

    Reply

  5. Our cats always look for my wife. When they see just me they act so disappointed … even the one that’s supposed to me “MY” cat! Of course … they know who feeds them and don’t care who it is that pays for the food, lol.

    Reply

  6. That’s awesome. Mine have done the same thing when I was sick. Cats should have little white lab coats. I hope you’re soon all healed up; of course, then the cats will bill you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  7. While Tuxie is a Complete Idiot, he’s a pretty good medicinal kitty as long as the trouble is physical. Mental or emotional trouble is so beyond him since he has such a simple inner life. Grumpy old Tortie is better at emotions if they’re strong enough to disrupt her Field of Tortieness.

    I’m glad Sisko is getting a second chance. It must be gratifying to him.

    Reply

    • Most of my kitties are pretty much motivated by body heat. But, thank whatever, I haven’t been sick in the last year to actually test out the healing properties.

      Reply

  8. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww………………………hooray for cats.
    This is such a sweet post, beautifully written.

    Reply

  9. Cat purrs promote healing, through their frequency. Search the internet for reliable sources. It’s true, I tells ya!

    Reply

    • I know that in the hospital I was trying to call forth images of the kittehs to see me through the long bouts of needles.
      It did help.
      Though real cats are better than thoughts of cats.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

