The kid has a new student job

She’s now logging in monographs for peanut-pay.
But she loves it, and the people running the place seem good too.
So far her favorite seems to be sheet music.
They get a lot of it.

6 responses to this post.

  1. the coolest job I EVER had (still) was as a student, I got to work at the University of Rochester’s Rare books library. I learned to make protective boxes for books, and different ways to remove stains etc safely. But the best thing was that sometimes, I could just walk among the shelves, so many interesting books in there, and I loved that the very very ancient ones had locks and keys on them, as if wisdom- or their contents were so precious they required safe keeping…

    Reply

  2. Sheet music is so interesting! Hope she enjoys it 🙂

    Reply

  3. My favorite all-time job was the one I had in college, working in the library’s archives sections. We didn’t just work with books: there were maps, old engravings, newspapers, magazines, photographs, and yes, sheet music. Everything had to be stored in its proper shelf, file or crate, however, so I spent a lot of time just putting things in their proper places. It got to the point where I knew the age of a document by its smell. I was actually sad when I graduated and left the archives. Yes, you have to move on, but sometimes a college job can be truly a work of love. Especially since you aren’t being paid very much. 😉

    Reply

  4. My first task in a library was to tie string around journals going to the bindery. No one even subscribes to journals now with the invent of databases!

    Reply

    • Part of her general happiness about the job is that she is thinking about library school – opps! Information Studies! – in a couple of years.

      Reply

  5. Anything that has to do with ephemera will be glorious. Good luck to her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

