How did I Miss This Movie???

When it came out???

House,

Nobuhiko Obayashi, 1977

 

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076162

It’s like Sailor Moon meets The Haunting, with maybe a little Friday the 13th thrown in for good measure.

The carnivorous grand piano may be my favorite part, but there is a lot to choose from. (Ebil witch cat too!)

BTW, Netflix has it.

13 responses to this post.

  1. I’m totally adding this to my queue right now!

    Reply

  2. Japanese people make some CRAZY SCARY movies. . . “O.O”

    Reply

  3. I watched the trailer, and the related videos had the carnivorous piano scene. Boy, those special effects were… special. LOL-worthy. The goldfish were particularly amusing.

    Reply

  4. I liked the little skeleon dance.

    Reply

  5. Japanese horror movies can be either enchantingly creepy, like “Kwaidan,” or absolute dreck, like “Hausu.” But it’s interesting how “Hausu” keeps so many of the old, traditional elements of the Japanese ghost story: white cats, a ghost woman in a white kimono, moving dismembered limbs, decapitated heads that talk, and moving inanimate objects in the house. But you’re supposed to watch ghost stories in the summer, when you can benefit from the chill they give you!

    Reply

    • It may be dreck, but it is GLORIOUS dreck!
      And, yes, those traditional elements do a lot to keep it glorious.
      (Bad Kitty!)

      Have added Kwaidan to my Netflix – other suggestions?

      Reply

      • Japanese horror has exploded over the last ten years, so I scarcely know where to start. If you’re looking for old classics, there’s “Ugetsu” and “Yotsuya Kaidan” (sometimes called “Illusion of Blood” in English). The newer movies aren’t just ghost stories, they’re gory and nightmarish. The original Japanese “The Grudge,” known as “Ju-On,” had me turning on every light in the house at night. Then there’s “Audition,” which is a psychological horror film that had audiences here walking out of the theaters. “Onmyoji” is a ghost story wrapped in a historical costume drama—I liked it if only because one of my ancestors was a Shinto exorcist and shaman. “Kuroneko,” “Shikoku,” and “Hellish Love” are all traditional Japanese ghost stories built around vengeful female spirits. Japanese women, oppressed in life, get theirs back in the afterlife.

        Reply

        • I am a little confused as to why, since Netflix apparently does not have Hellish Love, they would think that Hello Kitty’s Furry Tale Theater is a reasonable possibility for the title.
          What do they know about Hello Kitty that I don’t????

          Reply

        • Oh my god — “Audition”. I didn’t even want to bring that title up, as just thinking of it makes my skin crawl. I can’t believe I actually watched that.
          Yikes.

          Reply

        • i think Ugetsu is more sad than scary… for the wife especially.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

