Kind of heartbroken

We got a call at 11pm Sunday night. A sweet vet tech from around the corner found Quint in the middle of the street on her way in to work at the 24 hour clinic.

He probably never knew what hit him – it was immediate and catastrophic. The nice vet tech gave him to me in a box, wrapped in a pad, because I wanted to bring him home

I had just been sitting with him on the couch around 10, then he slipped out for a moment. I was about to go call him in when she called.

The cats never even go over to Dwight Way, what was he doing there?. And where did his reflective collar go? She found our information from his chip, the collar was gone. (Would the asshat charging up Dwight who hit him have slowed even if he’d seen him?)

There’s his shiny useless collar, and his shining beautiful tooth.

Here he is when we first got him. Frankly he didn’t think much of us. But he’d used up all his time at the shelter, and had an appointment with a needle the next day. He’d have lived his whole life in a kennel.

So he and his brother came home with Doc.

Once he was out of the box, it was weeks before I could pat him. The Shelter ladies said just to grab him, but I thought he’d had enough of that. The first step was sitting in Sair’s room and letting him come to me, and he did.

I waited him out, and he became My Guy. We ended up like this:

He became the original scarfkitty, burrowing under my hair, squirming and climbing to get as close as he could to Glorious Me! He was convinced there was a way to make my lap happen just under my chin, because anything else was just too far away. He was the happiest cat ever. There was more to being a cat than sitting in a kennel. There was a whole world full of things and people and it was all just grand. And if he wasn’t sitting on me, he was sitting in a great four-headed black cat pile with his brother, hanging out with Doc, who had  became another sibling.

He was an intense, very loving guy. Faster, smarter, shinier than anyone else ever. As if he knew he’d have to pack everything into a short time. I’m missing him.

43 responses to this post.

  1. I’m really sorry to hear this. It’s so heartbreaking to lose a furbaby, more so when they were killed in such an abrupt, terrible way.

    Quint is very likely looking out for you at this moment. I believe there is an afterlife for cats, and their spirits come to us when we need them. I hope you can find comfort and peace in the days ahead.

    Reply

    • I literally carried him away from death in August.
      And he loved every bit of this time.
      The world was so much bigger and better than it had seemed when he was in a 30 inch cube with his brother.
      I’m missing him dreadfully, but I can’t help feeling a little that all this time with him was somehow extra.
      It isn’t enough though.

      Reply

  2. Oh, and I was so looking forward to meeting him. I haz a sad. How is his brother doing? How did he get that far away so fast? Something must have spooked him.

    This is why I never let my kittehs out of my sight, I even get worried when I don’t see them indoors, even when I know no doors have been opened. My heart can’t take it.

    Yay for nice vet tech lady, though.

    *hugs*

    Reply

    • Well, I doubt you’d actually have seen him.
      More tame, but not all the way there.
      I’d turned into mommy, but even I was sometimes confused with ebilness if I was too tall, or moved suddenly.
      You probably won’t see Sextus, unless he is trapped in the kitchen and has to flee past you.

      The poor boy hadn’t gone terribly far off. It’s more that the cats just don’t go in that direction. Never have.
      There’s the empty house/mouse plantation next door, and cat groups down the street and in the opposite direction the people with the urban farm with the pig and geese. Those are the attractions. Nothing going on over by Dwight.
      Fifteen years and I’ve never seen any of them going that way.
      But it was a very dark and quiet night, and he was curious and adventurous.
      Too damned smart for his own good.

      We’d been thinking about making the lot of them into indoor cats.
      But Sisko is used to being out, and set in his ways.
      And then Doc – who was found wandering as a kitten – wanted out so hard that he pried open the locked catflap….
      He’s a tabby, and they can be very determined.
      And they are chipped and collared and all.
      Sigh.

      His brother is a little concerned.
      Luckily he bonded tightly with Doc, so he doesn’t seem miserable, just thoughtful.
      And more friendly with me.
      Quint had taken up a lot of attention, literally pushing between me and the other cats at times.
      So Sextus is taking advantage to get more snuggles.
      And he’s a little needy too.

      Vet lady was very sweet and upset for us.
      And apparently a neighbor, since she was walking past there on her way in to the clinic.

      Reply

  3. So sorry to read about this. Your heart must be broken. I’m glad though that the vet lady found him and brought him home to you.

    Reply

  4. Oh Lauo…. so sad to hear this. RIP, scarfkitty.

    Reply

    • Best scarf kitty ever, even given the occasional slides with the pointy bits grabbing.
      He had a really slick thick coat, almost like a pelt.
      I always wondered whether he was maybe a little like your ferrets that way.
      Hope they are all well and happy.

      Reply

  5. I’m so sorry. *hugs* to you and your cat family.

    Reply

  6. Awwwww 😦 Your story had me in tears, but I’m happy to know that he had that time to really enjoy life. I’m taking you had him about 5 months? And it’s so hard to keep them indoors once they’re use to the outdoors. We have one that *found US* (she nearly clawed the door down!)but we can’t make her stay inside- she slips right by us when we go in or out.
    ((((warm hugs))))

    Reply

  7. I feel terrible for you, Lauo. Quint was such a great kitty. And you are a really great cat person.
    It is so good that he got more world than just the kennel. Now he has the whole universe.

    Reply

  8. *in tears*

    My heart just hurts. But I am also so glad that you gave Quint his happiest months of his entire life.

    It’s infinitely sadder to think of him ending his days coming out of a crate and being put to sleep.

    Our cats love to go outside, too, and I can’t bring myself to force them to stay in. I know I will be devastated if something happens to them, but I balance that by knowing the pure joy they have in being cats.

    Hugs to all, lauo. 😦

    Reply

  9. *tears* I am so so so sorry for the loss of your beautiful kitty. What a gorgeous beast. Bless you for giving him such an amazing home.

    Reply

  10. Aw, I’m really sorry about Quint. I’m sorry you had such a short time together, but you made a difference in each other’s lives. He knew life outside the kennel in a warm loving home, so, that’s a good thing. But it’s still heartbreaking, no matter how you slice it.

    Reply

  11. *hug* Blinking back tears.. 😦 Soooo sad. I’m glad he got to understand what it’s like to have a good home though. I really hope whoever hit him didn’t do it on purpose

    Reply

    • It was a really dark night, and he was a black cat, and his OMG shiny collar had gone missing.
      It would be easy for someone not to see.
      (But, sadly, equally easy for someone not to stop.)

      It’s a one-way street with timed lights that leads to the frats and the freeway, so people drive it fast.
      I hate that street.

      My first conversation with my advisor as an undergraduate, the man lived in faculty housing up at the top of Dwight and we exchanged Dwight Way fantasies.
      Mine was a machine gun turret on the corner to blast the speeders and noise-makers.
      His was more subtle: a system with piano wire that could be tightened to attack specific vehicles.
      (I soooo knew I was in the right place at that point!)
      Dwight is that kind of street.

      Fifteen years, and none of the other kitties ever went over there.

      Reply

  12. Sorry for the loss.

    Reply

  13. I’m very sorry about your cat.

    Reply

  14. So sorry Lauo, such a lovely little furkid.
    At least he had a great time with you and probably never knew what hit him… (((((Lauo)))) big hugs

    Reply

  15. I can’t say anything better than the peeps above, just offer my condolences to you, too. He probably already thought your place was Heaven after the cage, you know.

    Reply

    • I think pretty much.
      He was, literally, happy ALL the time.
      Walked around with his tail waaaay up, purred when he looked at you, and jumped up to tell you all about his adventures as soon as he came back in.
      A very densely happy time for him.

      Reply

  16. 😦

    What a beautiful kitty! He had five lovely months with you before he went. But that doesn’t make losing him any easier, does it?

    Reply

  17. Posted by geologywoman on January 5, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Aww…bless his little black shiny fur self. I am so sorry for your loss. You gave him a lot of joy and happiness, I know this. How very sad. I love that he chose to lay on your neck…I would hug you if I was there.

    Reply

  18. A lament for Quint
    Fur of flint and glint
    A swift life well spent.

    Reply

  19. Oh shit, Lauo. Shit. What a lousy ass way to start the New Year. The only consolation is the one you’ve found–he got to taste what it meant to be a Real Cat™. With a house to rule and humans to adore him. It just breaks my heart his time with you was so short.

    Reply

  20. Oooof, I’m so sorry to hear that! *hugs*

    Reply

  21. Posted by Boston Margy on January 5, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Oh, that’s horrible. I’m so sorry.

    Reply

  22. oh, Lauo I’m so very sorry on the loss of the lovely Quintus>/b>. he’ll be missed by all at your house. I hope Sextus can handle him being gone.
    our thoughts are with your entire furry family.

    Reply

  23. Aw, jeez. So sorry. That really stinks.

    Reply

  24. So so sorry to hear. Edgar and I send love and purrs.

    Reply

  25. Was he named after the captain in Jaws?
    A great coworker of mine has a Brittany Spaniel named Quint.

    Reply

    • Nah, we were back to numbering cats, sorta.
      Doc is the Seventh Doctor, seventh cat, if Quint(five) and Sextus(six) come before him.
      And Doc is very Sylvester McCoy/Doctor Who seventh doctor like in the face somehow.
      I’ll have to post some good pictures of Doctor Cat and the seventh doctor to demonstrate.

      Reply

  26. Just (((HUGS)))

    Reply

  27. (((( big hugs))) Teary eyes. I haz a sad nao, laou… You gave him the best possible life in the shortest time possible, and changed his mind from despairing of love to reveling in it. His kitty suit was feeling a little too tight is all… Maybe he’ll come back to you, i hope so. Those black kitties are so very special. I’m so sorry.

    Reply

  28. ::crying::

    Oh, gosh…no words……..(((((((hugs))))))

    Reply

  29. I’m so sorry that I just now saw this post. So sorry for your loss. The peeps have lost so many pets these past weeks. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

