Posting Etti-kits

I just noticed on my earlier post today, and someone else noticed too, that when someone replies to a post, that you can’t actually reply to their reply, but can only add more responses to the original thread. So all the remarks about the original comment fall into a single thread, and don’t allow multiple levels of conversation about it.

So both Redz and Laurie mentioned their writing blogs, as responses to someone else’s comment about blog readership.

I want to ask each of them for the link to that writer blog, but whatever I post comes in as a response to the original reply about blog readership. That is, inside that thread, I can’t comment on Redz’ or Laurie’s response specifically, I can just add another comment about blog readership.

Finding this annoying, I have two solutions to this (very minor) problem to propose:

1) Go ahead and reply to the same thread, but head your remark with the name of the person you actually want to address: for example,

“Hey Redz! Send me that link, plz.”

This is simple to do, and a good tactic. But in a looong thread with multiple people pitching in, it would probably become crazy-making, with lots of interlaced back and forths. Probably this is a solution best suited for responses that you don’t expect will generate much back and forth. (Like the example above.)

2) In a more complex situation, perhaps the thing to do would be to add a new reply to the original post, thereby starting a new thread. To try to increase clarity, cut and paste the comment you are addressing at the top of your reply, then add your own reply under it, so that this new conversation becomes its own entity: for example:

“[cut and paste comment discussing the importance of cooking hamburgers with onions mixed in, including name of poster] I disagree with your opinion that hamburgers must always contain onions, that’s just a way to ruin perfectly good meat.”

Here is a topic where you might expect a fair amount of backchat and disagreement, and it might make a lot of sense to take it outside, as it were, and let it generate its own thread of replies.

Thoughts?

EDIT:

Assumes best Roseann Roseanna Dana voice: “Nevermind.”

Robbie tells me there is a fix on the dshboard somewhere… will go and fix.

SOLUTION!

You can fix this on your own blob: Under “Settings” one of the choices is levels of nesting. You can haz 10!

But if someone’s blob doesn’t have this, then these might still be useful.

45 responses to this post.

  1. Hmm. I guess I would choose choice number 2….in the more complicated situation. #1 in the simpler situation.
    So…I agree with everything you just said. πŸ˜›

    I scrolled down to see what Dieter thinks and he is conspicuously absent from your blob.

    Reply

  2. Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Nesting?

    Reply

    • Found it!
      Thank you!
      You are utterly brilliant

      Reply

      • Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 3:15 pm

        ::blushes::

        I was going to post about it but not many people are coming to see me, so a lot would miss it. I figured they’d see it on your site. That’s super!!!!!

        Reply

        • robbie, I haven’t been yet found time to visit many people, forgiveness plse.

          So lauo, I know what you mean, but I think some of that is due to people not setting their comment threads to extend beyond just a few. When you go to Dashboard and click on Settings, there’s a section called Discussion for setting how far into a thread you want discussions to go. It can be only 3 before comments pop back out into the main thread. Or as many as you want.

          There are lots of features on WP I find frustratingly impersonal.

          Reply

          • I haz found nesting! (It took a few tries.) And my Godblog Blog hasn’t had anything new added to it for a while. In fact, you were the last real commenter on it months ago (everything since then has been spam). Anyway, if you still want it again, it’s
            http://www.lauriechanner.com/?page_id=38

            Reply

          • Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 6:26 pm

            Jaypo!! Not to worry!! I know everyone’s busy/confused…me, too! I only mentioned it because I didn’t want to post something useful and not have it be seen by lots of people. I’m glad I could put it here.
            And I’m behind in vising, too…I can’t figure out how to make my Subscriptions and Readomattic be up-to-date. Sometimes I get notice of something looooong after I’ve stumbled across it by accident and already commented.
            AND my lack of clickability is a problem, I’m sure. Wish I knew how to fix that one!
            ::waves::

            Reply

            • The subscriptions have a box to set for each peep, of how often you want to be notified. The default is never, so if you don’t change anything, you’ll never hear! Other choices are something like Instantly, Daily, Weekly, etc. Pick what you want for every peep! Or leave at Never.

              Reply

        • Robbie,

          I can’t seem to get on your WP.
          I have tried and meant to write to you.

          Reply

  3. Posted by Lowly Second Attendant on September 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    What great information! Thanks Robbie & Lauo!

    Reply

  4. I thought you could just click on the “reply” in the top comment and your comment would then fall into place.
    I shall suss out this “nesting” thing! Thanks!

    Reply

  5. I somehow accidentally found the nesting setting when I was looking for something else and I set it up to a higher number b/c I saw it set at a redonk low number and thought “That will never do.”

    I guess not everyone’s as chatty as us.

    Reply

  6. Posted by geologywoman on September 28, 2010 at 12:27 am

    You have figured it out, so I will not tell you. Since you already know. LOL!

    Reply

  7. yay for nesting! thanks for explaining how that works. now there is extra nesting (with comfy fleece blankies) on the Miao blog.

    Reply

  8. I did no more than 10 in a thread, too, seems to be working well.

    Reply

  9. I am astounded that anyone even found that nesting thing. How would anyone stumble across it? I can only imagine the vast quantities of information I am missing! πŸ˜›

    Now I will try to get to Robbbie’s blob….cuz I don’t know if I have been there!!!

    (also looking to see if italics code works in comments) πŸ˜›

    Reply

    • Hi, Lauri!
      I found nesting when I was looking for way to make us be able to reply to each other the way we could at Vox. Didn’t know what “nesting” meant at first but I click on everything just to see how it works…LOL..and it did! I
      I wish WP would take us directly to the comment though, the way Vox did. It was simpler there. Here we have to search down the thread.
      ::waves::

      Reply

  10. Huh. It didn’t.

    Reply

  11. We can be matryoshka dolls!

    Reply

  12. Just peeked, and it says: No stats available from this period.
    THEY ARE CHEATING!

    I told you it hated me.
    I’m going to go sit in the dark and whimper again.

    Reply

  13. Good to know about the settings option. I found replying by email is one way to get around not being able to reply more than once. But that’s because I’m able to get to WP via email more than I can be logged on. If that makes sense. It may not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

