Does anyone else find it depressing

To have your stats sitting right on the dashboard page every time you go by there?

I mean, I don’t need to know I need life support here.

Why can’t I just blog in blissful ignorance?

She asks the pair of you.

(Well, not quite)

71 responses to this post.

  1. Don’t even talk to me about stats. I had 7 hits last Thursday. Seven!

    Reply

  2. Maybe cookies would help? Or punch and pie.

    Reply

  3. there’s a way to hide them, and i did it, but have no memory of how i stumbled on that, unfortunately…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Snowy on September 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Patience, dear Lauowolf. They will come. Just offer free chocolate…

    Reply

  5. Yeah, but every time I post photos of food and chickens, my stats go up. ‘Way high up.

    So the key must be to appeal to people’s hunger and desire for cute chicken photos.

    Reply

  6. Posted by geologywoman on September 26, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I agree. It’s like if I weighed myself every morning. Or knew how many grey hairs I have. No thanks.

    Reply

  7. I am a little obsessed with my stats, I admit… it’s probably not a good idea to get hung up on these things, but I’m hoping that Google hasn’t actually started including us all yet (apparently it takes 4 to 6 weeks), because I’d be a little disappointed if I’d already hit my peak/plateau, hits-wise. Wouldn’t stop me posting, of course, but it would make my green eyes blue.

    Reply

    • There you are!
      You had slipped through the cracks.

      I’ve gone through various lists and vox stuff twice, and I’m still finding people.
      Either I typed in your addie wrong, or there was a glitch, but you didn’t get onto may list.
      Fixed now.
      (cheers)

      Reply

    • Posted by geologywoman on September 28, 2010 at 12:29 am

      Are you the Welsh dude?

      Reply

  8. I don’t think the stats count when we’re just reeding through the blog-surfer or read subscriptions thingy pages… at least the counter I had over on vox didn’t. So you prolly have many more hits than what it shows!!!

    Reply

  9. Stats lie…just ask any statistician. Besides, its the QUALITY, not the QUANTITY, that matters!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. I don’t even look at the stats. I’m not here for stats. I blog to keep up with a few dozen people I like and that’s it.

    Reply

  11. Oooh I love to look at the stats, they are pretty and look like sails on a Chinese junk.

    Reply

  12. You want sad and pathetic. My Redscylla blog, I get hits on. My “professional writerly” blog, I got bupkis. Wanna know how to attract readers? Date a crazy redneck and post overly intimate details of your personal life. At any rate that seems to be the real traffic driver on my blog…

    Reply

  13. I don’t look at my stats either. But the fact that I have to avert my eyes does bother me sometimes. I mean I don’t look in mirrors when I walk by them, either.
    There are reasons for not wanting to know stuff. ! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  14. I wonder if my blog were searchable by search engines, it would get more visits, but I’m scared to click that box. I guess Vox was searchable by search engines too, so I shouldn’t be so scared. But I am.

    Reply

    • I’ve always assumed that really no one cares outside of a small circle of friends, so it really doesn’t matter if I’m searchable or not.
      I mostly can’t imagine what someone would be looking for that turned up my blog.
      (My felines are never described as unclothed, for example)

      Reply

    • Vox was definitely searchable – I went neighborhood-only because of that (and other things, too).

      I didn’t like having my posts show up on Google searches!

      Reply

  15. Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 7:28 am

    I like them…but I’ve been here for a looooooooooong time. I never had any views so I got used to it. then things picked up (a little) about a year ago. I think it’s cool to see if I can write things that change the “trends.”

    But I’m used to watching “views” from being on Redbubble. It’s something we see all the time, for everything we do.

    ::waves::

    Reply

  16. Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 7:29 am

    My BIG gripe is that I’m not clickable here. Go ahead, click my name. Nothing happens. I don’t know why!!!!! ::sobs::

    Reply

    • You’re right.
      That is soooo strange.
      How did you do that?
      I’d go back to your profile to see if I’d checked something, thinking it would keep it more private.
      It must have been an option somewhere.

      Reply

      • Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 9:16 am

        I did…..everything I can find to do is public and fully-accessible.
        I never noticed it until the Vox emigration because I never had anyone else’s blog to comment on regularly. It mkaes me feel like I’ve got cooties or something and they want me in quarantine.
        Maybe I’ll go to the Help people. I’ve never been there before.
        ::shivers::

        Reply

  17. I’ll admit that the stats thing bugs a little. Last Saturday I had zero hits and it drove me to post something. Without the stats, I might have waited until I had something a bit more interesting to write about. Geez, at Vox sometimes I’d go a whole month without posting a thing and I was fine with it. I don’t know, maybe the stats are a good thing…

    Reply

  18. Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    PYRIT!
    Is there another you ????? I don’t have one. Just the one that pops up in the preview box. I’ve wanted to visit but don’t know where you are.
    Do I?

    I’m soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo lost!!!!!
    Everyone’s so scattered and named differently. And I didn’t know about the Readomattic or Subscriptions at first.
    ::whimpers::

    Reply

    • her blog is pyrits
      she may have another one too

      yeah, I’ve been doing some whimpering myself
      it still is not-quite-right

      if I look at subscriptions I find different things than I see on readomatic or blog surfer
      am not sure how to do this, short of checking all three

      and then I click on peeps’ links and find things I never saw go by

      can’t decide whether to whine or yell

      Reply

  19. Posted by robpixaday on September 27, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    But that’s the poetry one. Pyrit’s Pearls.
    Or maybe I just can’t get in.

    Hey….did you know you can set the comments for “nesting” up to 10 layers? It’s under “Discussion” on the Dashboaard,

    Reply

  20. Use the words “Nude Photos” in all your titles …

    Reply

    • Not really exactly wanting great huge tracts of … blog readers,
      so much as not liking my stats in my face all the time.

      (Sorta like when Sair opened her first Facebook and announced: “Fine, it’s telling me I have ZERO friends. Thanks a lot.”

      Reply

      • In Dashboard … on the “square” that has the graph in it … click on the upside down triangle in the upper right corner (you can barely see it) and it will close that window.

        Reply

  21. Everything I know I pick up from my (incredibly helpful and skilled) peeps.

    Reply

  22. And how weird is it that dear Carlisa has posted a new post over on Vox!!! Dated Sept. 23!!!

    Reply

  23. I don’t find the stats depressing. It’s kind of amusing seeing where you guys have been going on my blog

    Reply

  24. Posted by Freedom Smith on September 28, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I hate the stats!! Especially around 9pm when it goes straight down. I would rather not know. For some reason, it makes me feel bad, like a failure. But I do not feel that way if only a few people comment on a blog! I have not read all of the comments above but I have wondered if there is a way to make it go away.

    There is also a think that is confusing to me. It tell me how many people clicked on names on my blog list. Why on earth would I want to know that? Uggggg to the stats, I say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

