Ummmm, subscriptions plz?

I’m still experimenting with how to follow people’s blogs.

I don’t much like Read-O-Matic. Or Blog Surfer. I seem to keep missing posts, and only finding them by going to blogs one by one. But the blogs I’ve subscribed to do turn up under My Subscriptions. So that works.

Sort of. Except that I haven’t managed to subscribe to everyone’s blog, because not everyone’s blog allows it. So I don’t get everyone’s blog there.

When you are setting up your blog page, I think it was under Appearances, there’s a widget to add that allows people to subscribe. Like me.

So far as I know, you need to have the button for me to find you under My Subscriptions. Maybe I can subscribe to someone’s blog without it? I dunno.

But it’s easiest if people add a subscription button among their widgets. Just saying.

20 responses to this post.

  1. I’m having that trouble with the blogger formerly known as e2c.

    Of course, maybe she hasn’t posted yet.

    Ask RedZ to mention this issue in the Diaspora.

    Reply

  2. Not exactly sure what I was doing, but I may have justed added the subscription thingy to my widgets. I thought it was just for email subscriptions, though. I haven’t yet figured out the “My Subscriptions” thing.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Snowy on September 18, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I find that going to the blog you want to add, and then clicking on the “Subscribe” button in the top menu to the right of “Blog info” works for me. I had to go right through my Blogroll and do that to ensure that I would receive email alerts from them all.

    Reply

  4. Ah, under My Subscriptions you can view them, or manage them.

    If you go to manage them, you can tell them you never want email notification.

    And, I think, I can add urls, just found them.
    Will go experiment and see whether that works.

    ooooo
    And Snowy is right, there one is right on the top menu.
    (Duh)
    Another brilliant peep to the rescue.

    So I’m off adding subscriptions for a while.

    Reply

  5. Oooh, I didn’t even notice that subscribe button on the top menu. How convenient!

    And it appears that you can subscribe to non-WP peeps too.

    Reply

  6. Posted by tomzone on September 18, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Thanks to you, I added the subscription widget. The only way I’ve been adding for the most part is checking the “subscribe” box when I add a comment. Thanks for the heads-up. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Are you able to subscribe to mine? I dont’ really do that, just click through everyone’s most days, using ‘open in tabs’.

    Reply

  8. Posted by geologywoman on September 18, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I like using the blogroll, which is also under widgets or either links. So you go to widgets under appearances, and drag the blogroll to one of your menus on the right there on that page. You actually click on it and drag it like they’re Colourforms plastic window stickers (that’s why it took me so long to figure out, I would not have thought that was how it worked). Then you click on Links and Add new, and type in the address of each person you want in your blogroll (neighbourhood), and you have to give them a name as well. Like on mine, it’s called “buds” on the right-hand side of the page. Sigh – tedious to set up – but then once it’s there, I can just click along each name and read in turn. I changed the name of blogroll to “buds”, I forgot how you can do that. Blogroll sounded just too much like something you wipe your arse with to me for my friends.

    Reply

    • Posted by paikea on September 19, 2010 at 5:08 am

      ah, does the Subscribe button on the bar talk to the subscribe widget? – because i know i’ve subscribed to people and then sometimes i go on a page, and the widgety thing says i still need to subscribe – also, can people NOT on WP subscribe with the Subscribe button on the bar, or do they have to use the Subscribe widget by email? – cause then, of course, it would be a good thing to have both

      i like the My Subscriptions bar to follow posts – they separate them by day posted – that’s helpful – i don’t think it misses anything – i’ve found blog surfer and readomatic completely useless

      Reply

  9. Posted by geologywoman on September 18, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Don’t forget to “save changes” each time you do something if the option is there or it will not save them.

    Reply

  10. I think google reader is the best. And you can just scroll through everyone and read without having to click on individual links to go to their page.

    Reply

  11. Took a bit of fiddling around with the widgets, but I now have a subscription button on my blog! I was also able to get rid of the “category” thing, which was kinda useless… so thank you for the prompt!

    Reply

  12. I just added the Subscribe feature to my blog, so if you weren’t following it/me before, now you can. Good tip – thanks!

    Reply

  13. aaaah I’m getting confoooozed there are too many awyyyyz to do this thing.
    I like the blogsurf because you can see the actual text of the post, and when you’re done you ‘mark it as read’ and it automatically opens the next one… so it’s more like our old neighborhood page. xcept you can’t see how many comments there are

    I found out the ‘subscribe’ and the ‘readomattic’… don’t talk to each other.. or at least not well or not both ways, so you have to add blogs both places if you want to use both… and the readomattic is not NEARLY as handy as the ‘subscribe’ button on the header thingy bar because you have click the readomattic then the edit subscriptions tab inside it and then paste the URL in for every single blog… and if you make a mistake, it doesn’t tell you there’s no such thing as so-and-so-blog… and the list of blogs is not alphabetical.. it lists whatever people called their blog and not the url you just typed in… makes it almost impossible to check whether blog nr. 35 actually entered or not… unless you feel like reading through the entire list to see whether it got in there every single time.

    I trust all this will get easier with time – sigh!

    Reply

    • Wow, you were right about BlogSurf. So much neater than what I’ve been doing so far (opening links from my BlogRoll in a new tab every morning, just to check for new posts). Thanks for the tip!

      Reply

      • Still not perfect….
        So far as I can tell, there is blogsurfer, read-o-matic, subscriptions, and google-reader which I haven’t tried yet).
        I’m not yet satisfied with the first three.
        Sigh.
        Am sick of all this blog-moving homework!

        Reply

  14. Posted by robpixaday on September 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Hmmmmmm……….I’ve been adding people to both my Readomattic and my My Subscriptions by plunking their URLS into the blanks for that. It’s super easy. And they seem to show up ok, unless I’m blocked from some posts (which I am). And I’m way behind in reading them.
    I think I have my blog set for subscriptions, but I thought it was just email ones, didn’t know it was the WordPress ones. Wow! So many things to learn!

    Reply

  15. Posted by geologywoman on September 21, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Fabulous! Oh sorry, “Bloody good”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

