Still Missing

Idiot Nikki kitty.
No new sightings.
Much postering.
Daily checking Found Cats and DOA at the animal shelter.
A fair amount of cat calling off across Telegraph Avenue.
Sigh.

I’m mostly telling myself good stories, that maybe someone passing by has taken him home.
After all, I know two different people have already done that.
Or maybe he is just having an okay time having a teen-aged cat walk-about.
And at least we have a confirmed sighting on the street after the Berkeley Humane Society fire.
Last week, from faulty wiring, fifteen dead cats.
I did say it’s been a bad week.
I am resolutely not thinking injured, starving, frightened, trapped.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 responses to this post.

  1. I'm keeping the faith with you. We had a domestic stray turn up at my boxcar cat colony who'd been missing for two months and was less than half a mile as the crow flies from where she started. She was returned home.

    Reply

  2. Lauowolf: I had a cat disappear once, and we looked everywhere! Two months later, we were out walking, and this cat runs across in front of us. My sister said that it was Randy. I didn't believe her…it was too long ago. But we walked over closer and started softly saying, "Hi, Randy." Well, guess who comes meowing out of the bushes and purrs so that you'd think he'd break his throat. He knew us all, and THEN walked in front of us to lead us back to MY place. Wow! But someone had obviously taken him in because his fur was so shiny and smooth, and he had a nice little belly on him.
    My sister had a cat that would vanish at times, and then come back home smelling of wood-smoke. He obviously had TWO families now…and one had a fireplace. People just seem to adopt cats when they think they are strays.
    I hope you feel better knowing that cats are taken in by others a lot…I have more stories! Lol. ((Big hugs))

    Reply

  3. Well he's been quite resourceful so far. I mean really, who could resist that awesome cuteness!!We have a cat that adopts us every once in a while. We've resolutely not brought her into the house, though our neighbor says she once spent an entire winter living at his place. I always wonder whose she is, as she quite happily disappears for months at a time, but always shows up again, fat and happy. 😛

    Reply

  4. Sending good thoughts to Nikki that he will find his way home to you soon.*hugs*

    Reply

  5. Sigh, so many times this happened to me. My strategy, which sometimes worked, was to wait until the neighborhood quieted completely down, so that it was quiet. I guess of Telegraph this could be at an odd hour of the morning. Anyway, wait til then and go calling. They'll definitely hear you and answer, or if he's in some strangers house he'll beg to go out. good luck.

    Reply

  6. Sorry to hear that! Hope he finds his way home soon! Feline fatcat owns two houses, us and the neighbours. But occationally he will disappear for a day (he's usually on the couch at my parents place during the day), and will then appear in the evening smelling of fish and acting all smug.We *know* that all the neighbours ever give hm is kibbles, so where he goes to have fish we simply don't know. Cats make up their own arrangements 😉 fingers crossed for the safe return of your furrrroicious friend!

    Reply

  7. When you go calling for him, do you bring a package of his favorite treats and shake it? In the neighborhood of an ex, we could go walking down the street shaking a can of Pounce treats at 11 p.m. and every cat in the neighborhood would comes running.

    Reply

  8. Someone 'rescued' Nikki most likely. That is a good idea of calling out for him in the still of the night, making a food related noise. All my cats have been drawn to a spoon tapping on a plate.I'm so glad Nikki has a chip! Fingers crossed!

    Reply

  9. 😦 That is so sad. But the microchip is awesome, I definetly wouldn't give up hope with the chip in place. Have you alerted the resident children, and mailman? I heard that's a cat's best chance because those are the people who are around the neighborhood the most each day.

    Reply

  10. It sounds as if someone has taken the boy in. I so so so hope with all the posters and publicity someone will call you. *crosses all fingers and toes and concentrates really hard*Oh what a tragedy at the humane shelter. 😦

    Reply

  11. Can't you track the chip? I thought that's what they were for. Me wrong?Don't give up hope, LW, you know how the kitties are. Remember LT's Moo Daddy, how he'd disappear for over a month and then show up. I'm thinking good things about where he is.

    Reply

  12. Ah the chip.If he goes to a shelter, or a vet, and they scan for it, it will send them to us.Probably,Am remaining hopeful.

    Reply

  13. My friend's cat, Jacques, came back home after a 6 mo. walk-about in the wilds of Boyle Heights, fat and happy. Hope Nikki does, too.

    Reply

  14. ::crosses fingers:: I hope he’s just traveling and comes back soon!

    Reply

  15. I am so sorry. I know this feeling of refusing to think the worst. One of my cats went missing a few years back. I would see her on a neighbour's porch sleeping regularly. I know that woman fed her as she had gotten quite fat and not from me feeding her too much. One day the neighbour moved away and my cat went missing. I tell myself, she stole her. I bet someone stole the cat. I seem to remember an idiot friend being responsible for this. I hope she hangs her head in shame daily.

    Reply

  16. In my opinion, it is an interesting question, I will take part in discussion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

