The Home Decorating Channel is annoying me

They like blah neutrals waaaaay too much.
Not to mention stainless steel appliances and granite in every kitchen.
Oh, and painting brick.
They like to paint brick.
I keep seeing people's cool purple bedrooms, or big red couches, or whatever… and then the experts come through and paint it all grey or brown.
And what's with the so-called art, all the meaningless stuff with colors they pull off of a store shelf somewhere – here, this matches the drapes.
Don't these people have anything of their own they like, for reasons of their own?
Where are the books, or dvds or their children's artworks?
Their spaces sometimes end up looking maybe okay, but where are these people's lives?
And who wants their bedroom to look like a hotel.
Seriously.

Maybe I need to find something more soothing for late night noise…. a nice horror movie maybe.
(Ouch, there they go, they're painting the brick again. Ack, Ack. Ack.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

19 responses to this post.

  1. I had this boss once who lived in a fancy condo. I had to drive her there for some reason or the other because she didn't have her car that day. Her whole living space looked like a hotel room. It was as if no one actually lived there. I found it rather cold and depressing. I couldn't imagine ever being able to relax in a place like that.

    Reply

  2. Not to mention stainless steel appliances and granite in every kitchenthere's a word for that: pergraniteel (Pergo floors, granite counters, stainless steel appliances). made famous during those crazy years from 2002-2006 when anyone could get rich by flippin' houses.supposedly.

    Reply

  3. I have plain ol' white walls and neutral furniture, but I would never paint over brick, nor go for the steel and granite. Makes it so cold.Our house (as you guys have seen in the pictures) certainly doesn't look like a hotel! Plenty of books, stuffed animals, videos, photos of us, cat stuff, etc.

    Reply

  4. If it is a show about how to sell your house, yeah, they recommend neutrals. And the house should look like anal-retentives live in it. Blank canvass.All that so someone can buy it and paint the walls orange and green. Painting brick! Horrible. Why? Why would you want it to be more maintenance, when brick is low maintenance?

    Reply

  5. painting brick sounds like hard work!!

    Reply

  6. I'm commiting two sins. I've painted brick (A random brick half wall in the basment that didn't match anything else. We painted the entire basement white because it was a dingy and awful avacado color. However I would personaly flay the skin off anyone who tried the paint the brick around my fire place.) and I am planning to paint my wooden kitchen cabinets white. (Yes, I know, everyone crys at this)
    I'm doing these things not because some interior designer tells me too, or because I read in it a fancy schmany magazine, but because it's my house and I think it looks good. I have to live with it, no one else does.
    I'm quite sure an interior decorator would have some kind of fit if they ever saw the inside of my house, but then, I have personal items, momentos, photos and (gasp) children's art work clearly visible. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I haven't seen one of these sorts of shows for years, but what I did notice on them before is the crappy cheap materials they would use as well. After all, we have to prove we are budget conscious with our neutrals. Bah.

    Reply

  8. I see shows of this ilk with some frequency. It is not at all unusual for me to prefer the "before" room the the "after." I like haphazard, lived-in, useful rooms. I have no patience for the spaces that fall somewhere between effete and gallery, where children and pets, clutter and mayhem, are verboten. Life is supposed to be messy.

    Reply

  9. You are so right. Like fake wood kitchen cabinets.

    Reply

  10. Remember back in the day (lol) when they would be creative and just a little crazy? Straw on the walls; the front hood of a car on a kitchen wall that flipped down to be the table, a livingroom that was quartered and painted diagonaly purple and green, — all kinds of fun and interesting stuff.Now, everything looks like a JC Penney's showroom.booooorrrrrring

    Reply

  11. A basement brick was, not too heinous.A brick fireplace, I start getting all eeeeeeeee.Painting the exterior of a brick house….Oh great, now you can keep painting it forever.Brilliant.And, I even like a neutral myself, now and then, but a constant diet of it?I'll even admit that there is wood, and wood. And sometimes painting it is the answer.But always?

    Reply

  12. The worst part is when they're talking about how great it came out and actualy SAY things like "Oh this looks just like a fivestar hotel room :DDDDDD" No. Just no. Now, if you'll just come this way we can see the Master…

    Reply

  13. ok, confession time:there is this one show that makes me murderous. I think the name is "Color Splash" or such and the host was one of the first to win the "Design Star" competition (the winner got their own decorating show, natch).the show is relatively inoffensive, lots of painting, but the crowning moment of each show is when the host announces that he will "do some art now" to culminate the redecor process – and proceeds to splash some paint on a board. it is so friggin' overthetop it'd *almost* be funny, if there was any kind of self-awareness. of which there is none.

    Reply

  14. I did stay several times in a hotel (early 90's), the decor of which I spontaneously dubbed "Laura Ashley on acid".

    Reply

  15. Lol!Ashlee and I used to watch these shows. It always astounded me how they would decorate a room by covering an entire wall with dried bamboo. Or glue leaves to lampshades. Even if it DID look good at that moment, within 48 hours everything would dry up and fall off the wall/lampshade. Some brick painting might be ok. I have a gray barnwood paneling (circa 1997) in my familyroom that I keep wondering if I could paint over. Painting the outside of a brick house is completely stoooopid. I haven't decided what to do with my familyroom yet!

    Reply

  16. Well put. I like warmness to a room. I savagely dislike the Ralph Lauren look (preppy plaids, hunting prints, photos of Dubya — I dated someone once whose father, a surgeon, had a house like that, complete with GWB photo), and the urban spartan look makes me laugh as it looks like a big loo.

    Reply

  17. Plaids.Shudders….My brother-in-law gave me a plaid umbrella for Christmas one year.It took a while for me to forgive him.(Plaid? Seriously, Me?)Ah, my aunt-in-law's house, which we are emptying out, has lovely framed photo of the Reagans, and – sadly it makes sorta sense – matching JFK.Depressing stuff.Hadn't thought of a loo — Dang, now I have to not think of a loo!

    Reply

  18. I like plaid in random and inapprorate places. Like underwear. I would own a plaid car. Not the interior, but a car painted plaid.

    Yes, Wyoming is that boring.

    Reply

  19. LOL! Plaid umbrella, seriously!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

