Not happy

This is Motley.
Who is, indisputably, The Best Cat.

Motley turned up years ago on the 6th of July, about six months old, disoriented, and scruffy.
I first saw him when I was calling the cats in at dusk, and the whole lot of them came running.
And there were two Zeldas.
FelixCat was leading home a friend for dinner.
We resisted adopting him, mostly because I thought he was a stray, but we did leave him out some dry food.
He just stayed around, getting scruffier.
Finally he turned up inside, upstairs, with about 200 burrs in his fur, violently ill.
As he recovered, we discovered he had a nasty habit of biting, and some fear issues – my theory is that he was a Disposable Student Cat, who was less cute when the adorable kitten playing rough became a big cat playing rough.
(And cats can just, like, fend for themselves, right?)
Sair said we had to take him to the vet, and that was that.
That first time it was a mystery disease, symptoms were about to kill him, but everything was cured by some prenisone – his first narrow escape of many.
The vet and the pathologist never came to agreement, but we ended up with a healthy boy.
Because he had been so very ill, the vet didn't want to neuter him right away.
So Motley did the Hormone Thing and got the Big Head, and the walk, and the cattitude to match.
He never got very big, though, a kinda bonzai tomcat, so his right ear is a bit tattered (does he lead with that paw?), and he often came home with other cats' claws stuck in his forehead.

He's the only cat I've had who very clearly understood that we had decided to take him in, and was grateful.
He really, really, did not like being on the street.
When he purrs, which is often, he salivates, and after a while it bothers him, so he shakes his head and splatters anyone nearby.
But eventually he realized we reacted badly to being splattered, and started swallowing.
So he'd be purring and gulping loudly, because he didn't want to annoy us.

He's my big huggable cat.
He's the guy who greets strangers.
He's the guy who insists on sitting in Tom's lap too – unlike the feral retreads who think he's too tall.
He was Sair's big ole cat who turned up when she was in nursery school, almost 16 years ago.
He's my footwarmer, the yard patrolcat, and the chief inventor of cool places to sleep.
He's got kitty charisma, and the new guys always follow him around.
Truly, Wolfie decided to allow me to pat him when he saw Motley letting me.

Motley stopped eating Thursday and slept all day, so we took him to the vet.
He's in end stage kidney failure.
Vet says his creatinine level is not just high, but literally off the top of their chart.
And he's apparently in end stage heart failure too – they couldn't give him iv fluids for the kidneys because they were afraid it would kill him outright.
One kidney was destroyed by a cyst, and the other shows destruction that looks like lymphoma.
(And even if it were an infection, there is extreme tissue damage. And his heart)
They've sent us home with multiple pills, but I'm pretty much thinking I don't want to hassle him.
He has no kidney function, and no prospect of eeking out even a little more, and that seems pretty bottom line to me.
(Been here, done this, twice before.)

Timing being what it is, Tom is heading out of town right now to present a paper, and won't be back til tomorrow afternoon.
I'll see whether the traveling vet can come by this weekend, after he's back.
Or Motley may not make it that long.
He doesn't seem to be in pain, he's mostly just sleeping and extremely weak.
I got a purr last night.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

35 responses to this post.

  1. Aww, Motley!
    If any of the pills are for pain, I'd go ahead and give them to him, even if he doesn't seem to be in any pain. Sometimes it's hard to tell. But otherwise, yeah, I agree with you. I wouldn't want to hassle him, either.
    Good thoughts for Motley and the whole lauowolf family. ((((hugs))))

    Reply

  2. ((((HUGS))))
    They are all hard to lose, but Best Cats leave a gaping hole. At least the pain is sweetened by the wonderful memories.
    ((((HUGS)))) to you, to your family, and to Motley. I'll say a prayer to St. Francis that the passing is peaceful and free from pain.

    Reply

  3. (((((((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))))))

    Reply

  4. So sorry. We've got a 16-year-old with kidney failure; he's getting by, for now. Sad to see them get old.

    Reply

  5. That would be really nice if the travelling vet can come by and make it easier for Motley to go.
    You are wise in the way of cats, and their time, lauo. I'm sure Motley appreciates it. Big hugs.

    Reply

  6. We've been through this before.Zelda was caught relatively early, so we had a period of diet, fluids, and ups and downs.It's hard.Mot's 16 too.

    Reply

  7. Oh darn it. I know how this feels. Pintobean had the same thing this summer. And he just laid around, sleeping until we could tell it was time. He was 16, too. I'm sending virtual hugs as hard as I can. It's SO painful to us to lose them. But the thought of all the wonderful years they had (when they could have had a short crappy life without us) is a comfort.Big Hugs, lauo!!! 😦

    Reply

  8. No pain pills.I think the Vet is more than sorta fail, and will avoid her in future.(It's a big practice.)The meds all got thrown in without consulting, vet already gone for the day.Tom and I hadn't had a chance to really talk it out.Am wondering whether I have anything suitable hanging about….

    Reply

  9. He's a nice guy… I'm tracking down the info to see about setting it up.Hate to make Mot wait, but can't see sending Tom out to be functional immediately after visit.And he's really mostly sleeping.

    Reply

  10. Who knew?16 seems to be when the warranty on kidneys runs out.

    Reply

  11. It sure is a popular (?!) age for that, it seems. I never really felt that Pinto was in a lot of pain or distress. He was definitely weak, and obviously felt kind of crappy, but he seemed resigned to doing what he had to do….that is lying there in the grass in the sun, and drinking when I took him some water…but when he couldn't get up anymore we put him to sleep. Never really did give him pain meds.

    Reply

  12. such little heartbreakers they are

    Reply

  13. Awww, sorry to hear this. Motley looks and sounds like a cool cat.

    Reply

  14. Always love hearing about your kitties. I'm so sorry for the bad news. Big hugs to all of you.

    Reply

  15. I gots tears in my eyes nao. It hurts to watch them suffer, those dear, sweet little souls. They watch over us as long as they can before they decide they've had enough and can't do it any more.You gave him a loving, warm place to be. I'm sure he won't leave–completely–that quickly. Sending Motley and LW ((((hugs)))) and peace of mind. It's ok.

    Reply

  16. Even a scraping from an aspirin, if he seems like he might be uncomfortable. But if he's mostly snoozing, then he's probably okay without anything. Poor little sweetie.

    Reply

  17. I'm not able to say more than I'm so, so sorry. I know what you are going through and I wish I didn't. It's so hard to lose our dear old friends. Best wishes you and Motley Man. You gave him a wonderful life, longer and more loved than he would have had without you.

    Reply

  18. XO(((HUGS)OXWhat a great love story

    Reply

  19. Oh noes! Poor kitteh. He has had a great life with you guys though. That is obvious. Give him a hug for me. *hug* for you and Sair as well

    Reply

  20. Oh start sandbagging. There's going to be a flood. Oh that is so, so hard. I am so sorry. (((HUG)))But 16 is awesome. Precious Motley.

    Reply

  21. *hugs* to Motley. You are in our thoughts.

    Reply

  22. oh no, Lauo so sorry to hear this.Just been there and done that… the pills Kitty got was for nausea (antiemetic?). She wasn't feeling well and wouldn't eat.. it helped her feel better. for a while. ((((hugs and scritches))))

    Reply

  23. Oh – sorry to read this. Poor Motley; poor Lauo.

    Reply

  24. I suspect maybe kitty commercial diet just isn't quite right.Or maybe it's just that this is the design flaw.He's still sleeping, curled in basket.

    Reply

  25. I too lost a Best Cat Ever to kidney failure.Motley will be missed by all.I don't have any meds on hand that would help him. If I did I would bring them up.

    Reply

  26. I appreciate the thoughtThough I don't know that I'd have the heart to try to give him any.He's stretched out on his blanket, next to me on the couch, mostly sleeping.I have found the contact number for the visiting vet – will see what I can set up.For now, he's mostly peaceful, but quite weak.This has been very very fast.

    Reply

  27. Hi, jay. It is "ok"….this is the way the Universe works. It hurts, but …..well, all is as it should be.Whoa. Philosophical lately. And that's not a bad thing.

    Reply

  28. It amazes me how peaceful they often are. I think animals instinctively feel how right everything is. Growing older. The organs fail. But it's all part of "how it should be". None of this makes it any easier for us "caregivers" to deal with, though.lauo…you said how fast it has been. I feel that is a blessing. Hugs again!

    Reply

  29. I'm so sorry. I went through several tissues just reading your post and I wish I could give you a big hug. Motley is so lucky to have you and you him — it sounds like your family and he are a perfect match. And it seems that no matter how many of our furry family members we lose, it's still so hard to let them go. Hugs & purrs to you & Mots.

    Reply

  30. Motley is such a hero cat. I love what you said about him learning to swallow so he wouldn't disturb everyone. I'm so sorry to hear that he's so very ill. He's been such a great friend for all these years.

    Reply

  31. I'm so sorry, Lauo. ((((HUGS)))) to you and extra skritchies for Motley.

    Reply

  32. Lauo, I'm so so sorry. It's a beautiful post. He was such a beautiful cat. Hugs to you.

    Reply

  33. Thank you for that reminder, Lauri. You're 100%-ly right. Everything simply IS as it is.

    Reply

  34. How very sad. But heartwarming in that you gave him such comfort.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

