This is the kind of thing that keeps me reading the BBC

Oxford riot shield sledging police officers reprimanded

….Supt Andrew Murray said those involved have been spoken to and advised that their actions were a “bad idea”.

But the local policing area commander added that the snow had “a habit of bringing out the child in all of us”.

“I have spoken to the officers concerned and reminded them in no uncertain
terms that tobogganing on duty, on police equipment and at taxpayers’
expense is a very bad idea should they wish to progress under my
command,” Supt Murray added….

Cool

11 responses to this post.

  1. What? I think they had the right idea.

    Reply

  2. I love the "stiff" reprimand.And, yes, how could they have resisted?

    Reply

  3. Hooray for them! Grab a little fun whenever and wherever you can, guys! 🙂

    Reply

  4. LOL! Fantastic!

    Reply

  5. He made some great distance on that! Those work much better than dorm cafeteria trays. *shifty eyes*That's the best use of a riot shield I've ever seen. Let's hope that's the only use those things get this year.

    Reply

  6. Ah yes.Cafeteria trays…Not as slidey as they should be.Great hill.

    Reply

  7. What a bunch of spoilsport-stick-in-the-muds!! Those guys give cops a good name.

    Reply

  8. I don't blame them! They should not have gotten a stiff reprimand, just a swift "Right, chaps, don't do that again."I've heard if you steal the Pam from the cafeteria and spray that on, the trays will slide farther. *shifty eyes* Or if you can find some WD-40 in one of the labs.

    Reply

  9. "Is a very bad idea should they wish to progress under my
    command"is not the stiffest thing a boss could say.Sounds kinda like "I gotta say something official-like, but empty."

    Reply

  10. Hee. I have a BIL who is a long time police officer in Manchester, England. I wonder if he's seen this. I showed it to my MIL & FIL who loved it.
    They say they don't remember snow at home like this since their childhood days.

    Reply

  11. Prolly been sliding down hills on his own, too busy to keep up with the news.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

