Weird news day

First (from the AP) there is this little ride in a time machine:

Interracial couple denied marriage license in La.

NEW ORLEANS – A Louisiana justice of the peace said he refused to issue a marriage license to an interracial couple out of concern for any children the couple might have. Keith Bardwell, justice of the peace in Tangipahoa Parish, says it is his experience that most interracial marriages do not last long.

"I'm
not a racist. I just don't believe in mixing the races that way,"
Bardwell told the Associated Press on Thursday. "I have piles and piles
of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my
bathroom. I treat them just like everyone else."

Bardwell
said he asks everyone who calls about marriage if they are a mixed race
couple. If they are, he does not marry them, he said.

Bardwell
said he has discussed the topic with blacks and whites, along with
witnessing some interracial marriages. He came to the conclusion that
most of black society does not readily accept offspring of such
relationships, and neither does white society, he said.

"There
is a problem with both groups accepting a child from such a marriage,"
Bardwell said. "I think those children suffer and I won't help put them
through it."

If he did an interracial marriage for one couple, he must do the same for all, he said.

"I try to treat everyone equally," he said.

Ack.

Ack.

Ack.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

19 responses to this post.

  1. WTF? Tries to treat everyone equally …. uhhhh, unless they are two people from "different races" and then he treats them like … *deletes expletive*
    What an ass.

    Reply

  2. Um. Hello? *taps microphone* Is this thing on?It seems to me he must be breaking a law.

    Reply

  3. I suspect he may be just about to retire, suddenly like.

    Reply

  4. OMG. *picks jaw up off the floor*.

    Reply

  5. Back in Bowling Green, a friend of the family was a magistrate (KY equivalent of a Justice of the Peace). I asked him why he did not perform weddings. He said he had not filed the forms. Why was that? Because he did not want to be in the position of presiding over the wedding of a mixed race couple. I did not ask if that included Hispanics marrying Caucasians. I decided to quit while I was behind. Least he had the decency to not to do weddings.

    Reply

  6. !!!!!! gawd!

    Reply

  7. Welcome to the South unfortunately

    Reply

  8. Equally, yes, but also very separately as well. <sigh>
    Just when you thought the bar couldn't get any lower… Tada!!!

    Reply

  9. Other than being an asshole and breaking Federal law, he hasn't done anything wrong.HUMANITY FAILJOB PERFORMANCE FAIL

    Reply

  10. !!!!That really pretty much sums it up.

    Reply

  11. "I'm not a racist." WRONG.

    Reply

  12. Yeah, if you have to qualify your non-racism with the line "I even let them use my bathroom", you probably are, in fact, a bit racist.
    Does it say how he treats vampire/human couples?

    Reply

  13. Clearly there are more questions to ask.Vampire/human couples?But what about the children?(yes, the bathroom remark did sorta weird me out too)

    Reply

  14. !!!!! <– that's five. crivens, what an idiot!

    Reply

  15. I just read about that this morning. This deserves a wtf tag

    Reply

  16. yeah, this little display of douchbaggery blew my mind this morning. I thought it was an onion headline when i first saw it. Sheesh.

    Reply

  17. If the whole "I ask people their race when they call to set up a wedding" aspect wasn't enough for us to guess that he's racist, well the piles and piles of black friends who are allowed to use his bathroom kind of gives it away. Seriously who says something like that? Nothing says I'm not a racist like I've finally allowed THEM to use a toilet that I use.

    Reply

  18. Is it just whites marrying non-whites he doesn't like? Or can, say, a Latino marrying an Asian? What about same sex? What about mixed race? What about – ohmygawd – a man and woman who both identify as bisexual who are both mixed race (different!) who don't want to produce biological children but want to adopt a white child?!? (Maybe his head would explode!!!)
    The "what-if" game could get fun here. Then we could bring in Star Trek…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

