And so much for that

"Whole Foods Boycott Demanded

On August 16th people gathered on the sidewalk in front of Whole Foods
in Berkeley to let customers know that its founder, CEO and Chairman of
the Board, John Mackey, is working to prevent public funding of health
care.

In an August 11th opinion piece in the Wall Street Journal (it is also
available on the Whole Foods website), Mackey wrote in a piece entitled
"The Whole Foods Alternative to ObamaCare" that the "last thing our
country needs is a massive new health-care entitlement" and that health
care for the poor should take place through "voluntary, tax-deductible
donations" rather than government funding. He goes on to ask "While all
of us empathize with those who are sick, how can we say that all people
have more of an intrinsic right to health care than they have to food
or shelter?""

from here. – great site for Bay Area info.

Oh well, I ought to be shopping at Berkeley Bowl anyway.
Poo on him.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

12 responses to this post.

  1. Ugh. Yeah…a really big zeppelin sized poo on him. 😡

    Reply

  2. I'm outraged and disappointed.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for letting us know, lauo.

    Reply

  4. I am seriously annoyed.Luckily, after a brief stint of union avoidance, Berkeley Bowl is getting its act together so I have a worthy alternative.But I remain annoyed.

    Reply

  5. Mackey is and has always been a right wing asshole. I'm glad folks are seeing him for what he is and (hopefully) putting their money where their mouths are.

    Reply

  6. One thing I've noticed is that there are more health insurance, life insurance and dental insurance ads on television these days. Think they are running scared and trying to throw out the idea that hey, we have low cost insurance anyone can afford… Before we lose all our profits to the government programs…

    Reply

  7. Shit. I shop at Whole Foods. We don't really have a decent alternative to it here, except for one that's quite a distance for me to drive (about 30 minutes). I like it so much better when I'm blissfully ignorant….sigh….

    Reply

  8. "Voluntary tax deductible donations" for the GIANT problem of health care? Yeah, that's gonna work. Shame on Whole Foods.

    Reply

  9. I know that I'm totally spoiled here, with the choices available.Dang, that's hard.

    Reply

  10. I love the notion that I should feel some kind of loyalty to these bloodsucking businesses.My doctor, sure, he's a great guy.But he doesn't run things.And he'll still be a doctor no matter how they set up the back end of things to hire him.As is, I get 15 minutes of his wonderful care a visit.The government can't be any worse than the current rationing of care the insurance companies already do.(Oops, the Fates did not just hear that, and will not take it as a challenge!)But yeah, I just love sending a thousand bucks a month out the doorAnd I'll fight for the right to keep supporting CEOs in the style they love and expect!

    Reply

  11. Yup, you're lucky. Here in the sucky Midwest, we don't have a whole lot of choice. I used to shop at Wild Oats until Whole Foods gobbled them up…no pun intended…so now Whole Foods is pretty much it for me.

    Reply

  12. I'm so glad we have a Trader Joe's, which is cheaper anyway.Might as well go for a big-name supermarket as WF at this point — they're cheaper, mostly unionized (here, anyway) and don't pretend to be anything other than soulless corporations. Even the regular chains are having more and more organic and gourmet. Target has organic food now, for crying out loud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

