I’ve been mistreating my cactus

And it went and did this:

Just wondering what would happen if I gave it fertilizer, and watered it more….

Read and post comments

22 responses to this post.

  1. OOOOOOOOOO!!! ((carefulcactushugs))It was beautiful!Your intentions were loving……….

    Reply

  2. Cacti are good plants for me, cos I have garden ADD.I'm fine for long periods of time, but I'll just get distracted by life, andbang, everything up and dies just cos I didn't water it in August.Cacti forgive things like that.

    Reply

  3. Cacti forgive things like that.LOL…yes, they do!

    Reply

  4. I have one that has never done that in the 4 years I have had it. I am just no good with indoor plants.

    Reply

  5. I have a house full of plants, but no cacti at the moment. Maybe I need some…..You and pumpkin are tempting me! 😉

    Reply

  6. ohh, sad. i've got a black thumb so not of much help. i'd go online with the plant and proper case in this case. i have a jade plant that's not been doing well and that's what i've been doing. returning succulents to health isn't as "easy" or "obvious" as one might assume!

    Reply

  7. If you gave it fertilizer and watered it more, you'd probably kill it. 😛

    Reply

  8. That's what I thought. Or it wouldn't bloom as pretty. Maybe the flower is a HELP ME signal.What kind of cactus is this? I ruthlessly ignore all my outdoor plants and so this looks good for me too. I killed so many indoor plants that I don't bother any more, and there's really no point with the kitties either…

    Reply

  9. I have no idea what it is.I keep stumbling upon orphaned plants.Got spines, it's a cactus.

    Reply

  10. It would die if you watered it and fertilized it. It's gig is deprivation.

    Reply

  11. That's true.We have a very unhealthy relationship.

    Reply

  12. Wow! This is awesome.I admire your deprivation skills. 😉

    Reply

  13. It is a San Pedro Cactus. (Trichocereus Pachanoi). Pinkananda is right – for most cacti, too much water will just rot the roots or the core. Most of the time they like to live in really sandy soil, and prefer unsealed terracotta pots which help the soil to dry out around their roots. I have an indoor cactus which I water two times a year (never water a cactus in winter, it's their dormant period).
    FWIW – this cactus contains mescaline. 😛

    Reply

  14. heh, no wonder it was wandering the streets, incoherent and babbling….

    Reply

  15. Maybe it's a masochistic cactus and only with your cruel Evil Plant Mistress neglect does it really blossom…

    Reply

  16. There are weeks at a time when my "gardening" consists of looking out the back door, and thinking "nope, not dead yet," and going back inside.It's survival of the fittest out there.

    Reply

  17. My brother has a green thumb. he can get plants to grow in air. My wife on the other hand has a black thumb. Every plant thing she touches is dead in hours. I don't know if it's suicide or what. It's kind of like the Midas touch, so I have her go around the yard and touch all the dandelions and weeds. Works like a charm.

    Reply

  18. That's our method, and that's why we have three small trees, a few bushes, and a rambling vine. If we ain't killed in the past 10 years, it's here to stay.that's a very Berkeley cactus then. but These Kids Today with their ecstasy pills and designer drugs don't know from natural sources. lucky for it, I guess.

    Reply

  19. That's why I prefer cacti and succulents to all other plants. There used to be a time when I would get house plants and line them up on my kitchen window. My Father would call them "Death Row".

    Reply

  20. We have the eternal cats versus plants ware for inside sunshine too.For a houseplant to make it here, it has to be able to bounce.

    Reply

  21. Reverse psychology. Yup. That has to be it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

