Flying to London, in the fall

I looked out the window and saw this:

It followed the plane all the way across England.

I made the business guy next to me look at it.
It annoyed him, as he was Very Busy being Very Important, and trying to impress the cute Portuguese student next to him.
(She just put on her earphones and her eyemask.)

But very cool.
(The rainbow, not the business guy.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

18 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I thought I say a potted plant and/or a whale.

    Reply

  2. "Not again."

    Reply

  3. Heee! It's obviously a spirit! One of your friends, relatives, or just a friendly travel loving spirit! :)And good for you for making the stodgy no fun business guy look at it. You may have raised his awareness for a moment. It might become a habit for him! 🙂

    Reply

  4. The plane's shadow! I think I have some pictures of that from svalbard, it's really cool!

    Reply

  5. Little blodgy thing, lower left, is a circular double rainbow.(Best photo I could get.)

    Reply

  6. yeah, i know, and in the middle of it there should be a shadow of the air plane, like here. I'll see if I can dig up my photo of it, gimme a sec

    Reply

  7. Nah, because I'm actually aiming at an angle to the sun.and back behind the plane a little.Our shadow was probably much further back, very early am here and headed east.

    Reply

  8. ok, then it's a different thing ;o) Just thought it lookes similar. Very pretty, anyways!

    Reply

  9. ah… oh, I see.Cool.Well, this was clearer to see than to photograph.(I was a little surprised it came out at all.)And even then seeing it, it was fuzzy enough, and small enough that the shadow just wasn't visible.Utterly cool to have it tagging along after us — probably about half an hour or so before if faded completely.

    Reply

  10. I saw that on an airplane once! I stared at it for however long it lasted. So pretty.

    Reply

  11. Oh, cool! Mr. IG has seen something like this, from a helicopter I think (?) but I never have. So neat that you got a photo!

    Reply

  12. I see that when I close my eyes and rub on my eyelids real hard with my fingers… LOL. I was just wondering how many Leprechauns are there, since it has no beginning and no end to the rainbow… Perhaps it's like call waiting for Leprechauns? just an endless loop. Like being on hold for your share of the Leprechaun gold… Please hold, your call is important to you…

    Reply

  13. Oh please.I cannot have call-waiting in my fantasy world.ack

    Reply

  14. Oh sure, but the music isn't Muzak, it's Rihanna's Disturbia palying in the background. over and over and over and over…..

    Reply

  15. Sometimes young portuguese are smart 🙂 hehe

    Reply

  16. Very cool! …now I want to get on a plane. It's all your fault 😉

    Reply

  17. I was just blown away by it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

