Heinous foods #3 – obvious corollary: two wrongs do not make a right

Many, many years ago, when I was a child, I made a new friend.
She was Greek, and in the white bread suburb where I grew up, this was pretty exotic.
She asked me over for dinner, and my mom was concerned that I might be confronted with strange foreign ways at their house.
She warned me that they might not eat foods that I familiar with.
Doubtless she was expecting some odd Mediterranean concoction that would totally weird me out.
Nonetheless, she told me, be polite.
Whatever they put on your plate, it doesn't matter what it is, you eat it and say you like it.

Well, sure enough, there was something there I'd never seen before:

Except that theirs was extra special and had colored baby marshmallows in it.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

26 responses to this post.

  1. nom nom nom — I like carrot-raisin salad. No mushmellows in mine, though, plzthx. What I like even better is carrot-and-tiny-bits-of-cut-up-dates salad. I hope you don't kick me out of your neighborhood for admitting this… … …

    Reply

  2. ✖NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!☹!!!!!!!!!✖*dives into the nearest storm drain to escape*

    Reply

  3. Maybe just won't drop by for lunch unannounced.(Tho I would eat everything on my plate, and say thank you, that was very nice.)

    Reply

  4. With gobs of mayoooooo!!!!!

    Reply

  5. I'll leave some room for you then.

    Reply

  6. Your mother raised you well. But I promise not to make you eat raisins/mayo/yucky stuff…

    Reply

  7. not even stealth raisins, hiding out in chocolate?well, okay then.

    Reply

  8. OK, this one is truly heinous. The other things not so much. But this! *gags*

    Reply

  9. yuck yuck ewwwwwww

    Reply

  10. one of my fav salads. never tried with marshmallows tho.

    Reply

  11. I have tried this and…well, why anyone would want to screw up a perfectly good carrot is beyond me. The husband would say that "a good carrot" was an oxymoron.

    Reply

  12. I enjoy carrot raisin salad as long as it doesn't have mayo. Carrots, raisins, and pineapple…really, why ruin it with mayo?

    Reply

  13. saw that a lot on my plate growing up. without the colored 'mallows. just lost my appetite on that thought.

    Reply

  14. That is TOO funny…thanks for the good laugh! 🙂
    P.S. That "salad" looks icky. Never had it, and never will.

    Reply

  15. Ew ew ew ew ew! Raisins are evil! And shredded up carrots are almost as bad. Ewwwww!

    Reply

  16. This was a staple at dinners with my grandfather. I hated it too. Ew.

    Reply

  17. Thing was, we never had anything like this.I was in fifth grade.For all I knew, this was what Greeks ate.

    Reply

  18. OMG I love carrot raisin salad thou I don't have it very often now… and the date suggestion sound even better and now I am wondering about Figs and carrot shreds and pineapple Minus the mayo as it is on the list of no no foods for me now.

    Reply

  19. If you leave off the mayo, it may be okay.I can eat around the raisins…

    Reply

  20. The first time I saw that salad was in school hot lunch [shudder].
    My nephew was in one of those hafta-eat-to-be-polite situations once but he pretended he was on Fear Factor and got through it okay.

    Reply

  21. Carrot and raisin good. But when you add the mayo, it's nauseating.Our local Afghan restaurant makes a lovely dish of lamb in basmati rice with all sorts of spices, topped with carrots and raisins. I forget what it's called, but it's the national specialty of Afghanistan. Very tasty. But no mayo.

    Reply

  22. I think someone needs to invent a raisin detector. Like a metal detector but tiny, and suitable to table use.

    Reply

  23. Raisins + Shredded carrots = too sweet
    Just leave the mayo behind.

    Reply

  24. Qabili Pillau is the name of what I'm thinking of. By the time it's in with the lamb and curry-type spices and who knows what, you'll be loving it all. Or you could scrape it off and give it to me.

    Reply

  25. Damn those Greeks for corrupting a young Lauowolf. Perverts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

