Some foods are so heinous #1

I was waiting in a long, slow line and killing time discussing food crimes.
The subject of raisins came up, of course.
Raisins are a very divisive food.
There are people who like them.
And people loathe them, for perfectly sound reasons.
After all, dry they resemble gritty rocks, or maybe insects.
And cooked they become slimy.

Now, I have no objection to people liking things I don't myself enjoy.
It's a big world.
But the people who like raisins insist on hiding them in otherwise perfectly edible things
And then seem to think they have done you a favor.
"I made apple pie-curry-rice-salad, and, lucky-you, I put raisins in it! You can't get that from store-bought stuff!"

The lady behind us, sympathizing madly with the discussion, then shared her own most traumatic raisin experience.
The single most awful, unthinkable, possibility.
Chocolate cake with raisins.
("Keeps it moist, don't you know.")

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

32 responses to this post.

  1. yuck. poor cake

    Reply

  2. THANKYOU!!!!!!!!!I've been annoyed about this stealth-raisin consipiracy for YEARS!!!I like the dried. Yum. But I don't like them baked or cooked or unbidden. Being snuck up on by raisins isn't a happy thing.I always delay in swallowing, in case there are feets attached.But the people who like raisins insist on hiding them in otherwise perfectly edible thingsAnd then seem to think they have done you a favor I feel this way about mushrooms, too. Sneaking mushroom into otherwise good food is like putting ricin into the water supply. Not something to brag about. GAH!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. HI!!!!!!! It's good to see you!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. I hate 'em, too! I have learned to ask at restaurants, etc. when I want to order carrot cake, for example (which is often infiltrated by raisins). If the waitperson can't remember, I make them go find out — I'm not ordering blind.

    Reply

  5. And they are hard to see in things.So picking them out just doesn't work – you'll miss some no matter how much you try.Besides looking demented, and reducing your carrot cake to rubble.

    Reply

  6. Ha ha I just made rock cakes with raisins/sultanas…cannot stand the little lighters myself but The Boy loves them.

    Reply

  7. IN CHOCOLATE CAKE? GHA! Carrot cake, I can tolerate. I love raisins on their own, so sweet. but IN things like meatloaf, or bran muffins…I have to pick them out usually.

    Reply

  8. Hmmm…raisin toast, slaughtered with butter, was always considered a treat. I think that people use raisins too liberally, with little thought to the damage they do. Raisin in bread/toast yes, cake with raisins, most emphatically no.

    Reply

  9. in meatloaf!!!there is no end to people's fiendish imaginings.

    Reply

  10. Oh wait – i take that back – I do also like them in cinnamon toast and even bagels. In fact a good b-fast sammich is hot ham and cheese with spicy honey mustard on a toasted cinnamon raisin bagel. Yum. And surprisingly so.

    Reply

  11. I'm with Aubrey that raisin toast is pure delight, especially when homemade. But raisins are *not* an ingredient, they're an embellishment on another flavor. That's why, to my mind, they work well in ethnic cooking. Bunnies like them lots. That's probably why I thought your pic was titled "poopy raisins" at first glance.

    Reply

  12. MEATLOAF?????? *faints*

    Reply

  13. Ha! I don't think I've ever seen you misstep with the vocabulary — but did you mean "slathered"? (Of course, it's kinda better uncorrected.)

    Reply

  14. No, I meant 'slaughtered' – as in defeated, overpowered, bowed before a stronger adversary.
    Butter. It is a higher power.

    Reply

  15. Slaughter the toast, Aubrey! Texas Toast Massacre!

    Reply

  16. and slaughter is the best medicine.

    Reply

  17. I like raisins. In their place. Chocolate cake not being one of them. Unless it's crappy chocolate. Then toss 'em in.

    Reply

  18. ouchgood concept though

    Reply

  19. Aubrey's raisin butter to a new level.

    Reply

  20. Haha, I like raisins. You and Garfield would get along quite well in this area

    Reply

  21. I'm with Cap'n Stephel — I like raisins. But not in chocolate cake (who would corrupt chocolate cake with anything?) and certainly not in MEATLOAF, for Pete's sake! (Also, my cousin used to make turkey stuffing with raisins in. I did not like that.)
    Bread pudding with raisins… cinnamon raisin bread, toasted, (with the butter well melted in, I don't slaughter my butter or my toast…) 😉

    Reply

  22. she's butter at it than I am

    Reply

  23. Actually raisin bread is pretty much the only place I like raisins.(Well, I mean, I like raisin bread, and it wouldn't really be raisin bread without the raisins – though there is a local bakery that make a killer cinnamon swirl bread with no raisins….)

    Reply

  24. Somebutter is going to have to step in and and put a stop to this. Give them their margarine orders.

    Reply

  25. Oh grape, my inspiration is all dried up.

    Reply

  26. Raisins are the food of the devil.

    Reply

  27. They're like shriveled, diseased little gnome testicles. Only in raisin toast for me, thanks.

    Reply

  28. I Agree!! Stop putting raisins in cakes!!! And puddings!!!! And cookies!!!!!*explodes*

    Reply

  29. MEATLOAF?????? *faints*

    Reply

  30. Raisins go with bread and cinnamon — cinnamon toast, bread pudding, etc. And some ethnic food (which usually has cinnamon). And they're needful in trail mix. Oatmeal raisin cookies, it says right up front.But cake is just wrong. I've never had a chocolate or carrot cake thrust upon me with them, thankfully.I can't even discuss meatloaf.

    Reply

  31. Wow, I have a thing about raisins too…and here it is:They are too danged sweet. I don't hate them, but just thinking about eating a handful sets my teeth on edge.Where do I like my raisins? I like my raisins in oatmeal, cooked into it. I also like them in an oatmeal cookie. There is also a pastry called an eccles cake that I have become quite fond of that incorporates the raisin.I pick around them in trail mix. I do not want them in my rice or savory dishes. Put them in my trick or treat bag and you will get a flaming bag of poo on your front step.White raisins are better than those black buggy looking things.

    Reply

  32. Trick or treat box of raisins…very evil.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

