Journey from Heck

You have to imagine as well a huge pile of tissues
Or here, perhap, if the guy was in a spiffy blue British Airways uniform.

You know when you travel and there's this awful person coughing and spewing germs all over and you want to kill them?
Well, that was us this time.

sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.sorry.

I hope we didn't give the crud to a whole plane-load of people.
We tried not to.
We did medicate ourselves to the edge of safety.
And sit together at the back of the plane in our own two-person row, coughing on each other mostly.
And we brought lots of tissues, and a bag to stash them in.
Still, I hope we didn't infect the masses.

I can say that a ten+ hour flight with cramps (Sair), migraine (me) and galloping crud (both of us),  is pretty icky.
I can also say that British Airways people are very sweet – lots of tea and orange juice.
And what with a round trip, and a choice of lots of individually-played movies, I have now seen everything on their list that I can imagine sitting through.
(X-Files movie very unfortunate. Hellboy II, surprisingly okay. Dark Knight lovely. Mrs Pettigrew's One Day Holiday, nice. Bottle Shock very good – though I missed the end, and the dad guy was almost too annoying. Ghost Town, enjoyable, a surprise. Brideshead Revisited, well I wanted to like it, but just didn't, and it was skipping. 2001, not a movie to watch wen running a fever. And BBC news, and the map with the gigantoid plane image crawling across the map  — Did I mention these were long flights?)

Finally home again, and still doing cat census.
Motley, met us at the door.
Silmi, on the couch.
Sisko, came running.
Molly, greeted me at the top of the stairs, wanting a pat and apparently believing she is my cat (yay).
The Wolf, snuck in at 9:30 this morning, but was thrilled to be picked up and patted. Is now shut in and being tame and purry. (When I don't lock him in, he runs off and sits outside in his fort and pretending to be feral.)
Boe was seen coming in for food at 3am by Sair. ("He gave me a look and went to eat.")
I want him to come in and get patted, and admit that he lives here before I count him.

Tom is staying in London a few more days, because he came out later.
Which is good, since almost as soon as he got there he came down with the crud.
The same night that Sair did – the synchronized sniffling and coughing was amazing to watch.
So I spent three days plying them both with tea and watching them sleep.
We did stumble out to the National Gallery one afternoon, and got a few errands done.
But mostly everyone else was just really sick.
So, assuming he is a bit better, Tom at least gets a few days to tourist about on his own.

Sair and I left the B&B in London at 7:30 with too much luggage (moving out of the dorm), took the Tube out to Heathrow.
We got home at 5pm here (1am London time).
I ran off and got her two veggie tacos with guac and an array of fresh salsas.
Then she had first go at the bath, and was unconscious on the couch before I got out of the tub at about 8pm (well, London time that's 4am).
So I got her a blanket and left her (Silmi on her feet, Motley at her head, and Sisko on the chair next to her).

Today is laundry, cleaning, and then off to see The Nutcracker at her ballet school here tonight.
Hey, more people to cough on!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

19 responses to this post.

  1. (((((((((((((((lauowolf))))))))))))))Yikes that's a shame!I'm so sorry you were sick and hurting!I'm glad you're back, though,. You can eventually get some rest and mend fully. Your cat population sounds purrrrrrrfectly adorable.I hope the Nutcracker is wonderful (I'm sure it will be super) — spread as many of those germs as you can!

    Reply

  2. Yuck! I can't imagine being confined for that long, let alone confined with those movies! I confess, I don't think I'd watch any of them. Glad you're both back in once piece, that's enough to make you feel better right there.

    Reply

  3. I spent a trip from Frankfurt to Detroit one row in front of the 'smoking section' back when there was (not) such a thing. I was absolutely green when I got off the plane and need to visit every restroom from the gate to baggage claim to get whatever I could out of my tummy in the hopes I could feel better. That was probably my worst flight.
    I love the airplane and map show. It's hypnotizing, even though the data barely changes from minute to minute.

    Reply

  4. I can vouch for the British Airways people – years ago I was standing in line, waiting to fly home, during an airways strike – and they were just adorable.
    Very sorry to hear about the crud attack – continue with the tea and orange juice!
    And I too wanted to like Brideshead (I had already assumed the book/TV version was better), but held back from viewing. I'm glad of it.
    Feel better!

    Reply

  5. Woohoo! I hope you contaminated lots of people! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. They show Dark Knight on the plane? Little surprised. Either you sure travel a lot! Or watch a lot of movies on the ground.

    Reply

  7. British Air they have little individual screens in the backs of the seats.There is a whole library of stuff to choose from.And you can pause them.Good thing this trip – usually I read, but the focus just wasn't there.

    Reply

  8. It didn't help that the disc was skipping like mad.And I think that was when the fever was kicking in.I'd be willing to give it another shot if the dvd and I were both in better shape.

    Reply

  9. I hope you both feel better soon. And being still in one place rather than on the go should speed that up. Remember, rest build antibodies. And continue to apply plenty of cats topically as well.

    Reply

  10. Being home is heaven.But the coughing duets are getting on my nerves.

    Reply

  11. "You know when you travel and there's this awful person coughing and spewing germs all over and you want to kill them?
    Well, that was us this time."Once my son and I were on a plane to Hawaii (not for vacation or fun, but that's another story) and he was really, really sick. A lady sat next to us and she had a baby. I turned to her and said "my son is really sick, I'm sorry. I just thought you should know because you have your baby with you." I was thinking maybe she would want to move to keep as far away from us as possible, with the baby and all. She turned to me and said a bunch of obsenities – not really to me or anyone else, just about the fact that great, now her kid was going to get sick and why bother even moving because we all breathe the same air anyway, etc… Ugh. I hope y'all feel better soon.

    Reply

  12. Ack.I hate crazy people.And we all know that cursing at people solves everything.Not.What we did was trade my window seat for the aisle seat next to Sair.So the nice young man, who was happy to switch, got to sit next to the cute girl in the aisle seat.And germy Sair could fall asleep on my equally germy shoulder.Win-win.

    Reply

  13. ugh.moar tea with honey and lots moar cats.

    Reply

  14. and that's in coach?! wowee! have heard it's a good airline …

    Reply

  15. Crud travel is no good. 😦 Glad you are at least home now. I flew with a sinus infection once. Never again.Hope you had fun at the ballet!

    Reply

  16. I hope you feel better soon. The sense of humor has not vanished before the crud, and that must be a good thing.

    Reply

  17. UGH!!!It sounds completely miserable. I hope everyone is getting better, now!I loved the movies on our trip to India. You can pick the movie (screens on seatbacks for KLM, too) and start and stop it at any time. Huge library of movies! It sure helped get the long flights over with!

    Reply

  18. Being home is heaven.But the coughing duets are getting on my nerves.

    Reply

  19. "You know when you travel and there's this awful person coughing and spewing germs all over and you want to kill them? Well, that was us this time."Once my son and I were on a plane to Hawaii (not for vacation or fun, but that's another story) and he was really, really sick. A lady sat next to us and she had a baby. I turned to her and said "my son is really sick, I'm sorry. I just thought you should know because you have your baby with you." I was thinking maybe she would want to move to keep as far away from us as possible, with the baby and all. She turned to me and said a bunch of obsenities Π²Π‚β€œ not really to me or anyone else, just about the fact that great, now her kid was going to get sick and why bother even moving because we all breathe the same air anyway, etc… Ugh. I hope y'all feel better soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

