Because he can still hold us all hostage for a few weeks….

From here:

WASHINGTON — The struggling auto industry was thrust into the middle of a political standoff between the White House and Democrats on Monday as President-elect Barack Obama urged President Bush in a meeting at the White House to support immediate emergency aid.

Mr. Bush indicated at the meeting that he might support some aid and a broader economic stimulus package if Mr. Obama and Congressional Democrats dropped their opposition to a free-trade agreement with Colombia, a measure for which Mr. Bush has long fought, people familiar with the discussion said.

The
Bush administration, which has presided over a major intervention in
the financial industry, has balked at allowing the automakers to tap
into the $700 billion bailout fund, despite warnings last week that General Motors might not survive the year.

This guy cannot be gone too soon.

Which brings me to a small, pointless story.

I ran into a friend of a friend at the grocery store.

So we said hi, and all.

And discussed the election, both of us happy about Obama and all.

I mean, she was talking about flying to D.C. for the inaugeration.

Then I made a passing remark about being pleased to get GWB out of the White House.

Not even frothing at the mouth, or using obscenities, or any actually quite reasonable accompanying comment.

Just that it was going to be good to see the man go.

To which she responded, "Oh, I can't hate anyone."

Subtext being, I guess, "Unlike hate-filled non-Christian low-life types like you."

I actually beg to differ.

It's called righteous indignation, and actually it's just fine – Christ driving the money-changers out of the temple, anyone?

(For a non-Christian I have a lot of random Bible information in my head.)

Edit:

Illustration courtesy of Dib;

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

6 responses to this post.

  1. Isn't it weird when you think you know what's going on and you think you know how the people you're interacting with will act and then all of a sudden you're smacked in the face with something unexpected, like this instance?It's nice that your acquaintance isn't judgemental either, huh…o_O

    Reply

  2. It doesn't mean you can't dislike someone..

    Reply

  3. Oh for pete's sake. I hate that. Ha, see? I said hate and I do hate stuff. I remember many many years ago, in a hospital far far away, when a fellow student and I were getting into the line at the cafeteria for lunch, one of our classmates and her friend offered to let us "take cuts" in line "because we are Good Christians." Well, nevermind then. We can wait with the rest of the sinners.

    Reply

  4. Oh my gawd! I know that woman! She's the absolute worst. 😛

    Reply

  5. This post needs moar Greco! Srsly, tho. It is always good to know that someone IS actually as insane as they seemed that many years ago. I mean Holier-than-thou-tutor-crazy chick, of course, not Bush. After all. I can't hate anyone… This desire to kick most of the current administration in the balls is out of –umm.. love? Yes. Love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

