it’s over

I appreciate every kind word, and thank you all.
Laura slipped away from us on Tuesday, while I was holding her hand.
I thought she was falling asleep, but she never came back.
Her poor body gave up this afternoon.
The world is the poorer for it.

I'll be taking in her two kitties, Sisko and Molly.
Sisko was a young stray in Oakland, when Laura lured him to her with dinners and sweet talk.
When she moved out to La Honda, she brought him along, and he discovered wilderness.
Molly was another wild cat, living in the woods by the creek.
Laura was a world-class cat coaxer, and Molly consented to become tame.
I have patted Molly, but never Sisko.
So we'll be over there trapping this week, and undertaking yet another feral(ish) kitty mission.
I don't have an entire wilderness for them, but there are a lot of connecting backyards and trees.
I think they can be happy here.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

25 responses to this post.

  1. I am so sorry 😦

    Reply

  2. Good luck catching Molly and Sisko. I'm so, so sorry Laura didn't make it….really, really sorry. I wish there was something I could do.

    Reply

  3. I'm so sorry I missed this, Lauo. My condolences. (((hugs)))You're wonderful to be taking in the kitties.

    Reply

  4. Love and kind thoughts to you all. I am glad Laura had a friend by her side when she slipped away.

    Reply

  5. So sorry to hear that-my condolences!

    Reply

  6. So sorry to hear that – thats a bit of a shock actually, even though I never knew her – how nice for her though that you were with her at the end and that her beloved cats will be taken care of. R.I.P. Laura.

    Reply

  7. Oh, gosh ..no words ……(((((((((((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    Reply

  8. "Laura was a world class cat coaxer", and you are a world class friend.lauo, I was told last night that the 30-something daughter of a teacher I volunteer for suddenly got blood sepsis from an infection and died yesterday. She had been fine before. Was a newlywed too. Tragic.(((HUG)))

    Reply

  9. That is so amazing of you to take in the kitties. Good luck in your mission. All good trapping mojo to you.

    Reply

  10. {{{{{hugs}}}}}

    Reply

  11. (hug). Very sorry for your loss. You are a lovely soul to take in her cats, I hope they realize you are there to help and allow themselves to be trapped without incident.

    Reply

  12. I'm sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  13. I hope the kitties cooperate with your trapping. You're doing a wonderful thing.I'm so sorry for your loss. *more hugs*

    Reply

  14. I"m so sorry to hear it. Here's hoping the kittens cooperate!

    Reply

  15. They come into her house for food, and know her cat sitter well.I'm hoping Barbara will come over and help.So, fingers crossed, I'm not thinking it will take a long time.(knocking on wood too.)Then they will come here to live in Sair's room for a while, til they get used to being around me.Then it's free in the whole house.And only outdoors once they know they are part of this cat group.

    Reply

  16. She will watch over you and thanks you, without a doubt, for taking in her kitties. You are all joined like a family …

    Reply

  17. My condolences! Laura is still with you though. She's in the wind, and she's in the sun. God bless!

    Reply

  18. ((((( lauo))))) good luck trapping the kitties.

    Reply

  19. She knew she was loved, because you were there. Strength and peace to you, and all her friends and family.Maybe the new kittehs will chase PossumBoy away…or join the Fambly, who knows?

    Reply

  20. *HUG* Good luck with everything. I hope the kittehs understand to some degree that you're wanting to help them

    Reply

  21. Hugs… and so sorry for your loss… and the kitties will figure it out and love you, my Mom's cats settled right in at my house.

    Reply

  22. I'm so sorry, L. There is no lonelier place than being alone in a hospital room, and no greater comfort than having a friend there beside you. Knowing you would take care of the meowers I'm sure added bonus comfort.

    Reply

  23. I'm sorry. *hugs* And I'm sure her cats will be fine and love their new home once they get over the confusion.

    Reply

  24. I am so very sorry XO

    Reply

  25. Laura — I just today saw this post. I'm afraid that I miss ALOT of my favorite people's posts, what with not having a computer to access at home and all that.I am so sorry. My heart grieves for you in the loss of your dear dear friend.My sincere condolensces to you and your family & others close to her. She was lucky to have had you for a friend, for sure. I know you miss her.Love and best wishes to you. Please take good care of yourself.Love & hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

