It actually has been the week from hell

Let's see:
I can start with the merely seriously annoying.

My backyard rental – I think of it as a very large fishbowl, usually filled with grad students – is having massive upheavals.
The tiny Asian lady Chemistry graduate student geek replaced her previous roommate with a new improved model: the PsychoRoommatefromHell.
Who has been having screaming cursing fights with her.
And having loud drinking parties going on til 2am randomly on weekdays.
And moving stuff into the upper cabinets for revenge (seriously).
And not paying her share of utility bills.
(Oh, and although it's good that she actually is recycling the vast number of beer and whiskey bottles, I wish she'd rinsed them first, cause it smells like a distillery when I drive them in.)
So Tiny Chemist is moving out, leaving me with PsychoBaby.
Who celebrated by breaking up with her boyfriend, at the top of her lungs, with great profanity which included yelling "You fag" at him, while flinging several clay flower pots from off her railing.

Tiny Chemist only just told PsychoBaby she is moving out on the 1st, and only paying rent til the 15th, which leaves PsychoBaby responsible for all the rent after the middle of the month.
PsychoBaby wanted me to cut her a favor about the rent – and truth to tell, I have done things like that for other people in the past, but not this time.
Because I just really don't want her back there forever.
So (Praise  God) she gave me thirty days notice.

Now I have to rent the apartment out, in the middle of the term.
I am offering to try to find new tenants for the soonest day she thinks she might leave.
PsychoBaby's 30 days don't end til the 21st, but if I found someone who wanted it sooner, I would refund her the rent for any days they overlapped.
Because I do think it was a little stinky of Tiny Chemist not to give her roommate, even a twisted crazy roommate, 30 days notice.

And then there is the continuing purely horrible.

My friend Other Laura is not doing well.
She is off at the Redwood City Kaiser, because that is apparently where Northern California Kaiser keeps its neurologists.
She has an abscess on her brain, and fluid coming off in a shunt.
She is on a respirator.
There are tubes everywhere, and she wasn't responsive last night.
I am clinging to the surgeon telling her mother that it is early days yet.
They list her as critical but stable.
Her favorite sister is flying down today, and going to stay in her place and take care of her cats.
Her co-workers are tag-teaming the hospital, trying to have someone with her most of the time.
I spent five hours there yesterday, and Tom is over there now.

I'm waiting for Tom to call.
I got a robot call from Shoe Pavilion.
I got a stupid Prop 7, crazy guy writing his own energy bill, robot call.
I got two empty lines, weird no one there calls.
No Tom yet.
If there were bad news, he'd have called.
I think the people who invented the robot call should be killed in a long and painful manner, over many days.

Update: Other Laura's sister called.
She's doing better today than last night. 
She opened an eye, and managed a little independent breathing.
Not yet conscious, but definitely better.

Oh, and then there's the completely ridiculous:

The No-Good Boy Kitties have decided that Indian Summer means never coming in at night.
Which means I can't shut the cat door.
Which means the DamnPossum again thinks he is a pet.
When I catch him sneaking in and try shooing him off, he just looks at me sadly, with mild disbelief, as if I have seriously diappointed him.
Anyway, when I finally got home from Kaiser last night – the drive back being made oh-so-much-more pleasant by the closure of the 880, so that I got to drive back through San Francisco along all the  other diverted traffic – there is DamnPossum, or PossumBoy, as he prefers to be called.
Anyone know how possums mark territory?
I just cleaned out behind the chair by the cat door.
Poopy-head indeed.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

21 responses to this post.

  1. Any chance you might get Tiny Chemist to move back in? (Although you might be better off with someone a little more discerning and careful about whom she selects for future roommates…)
    I hope Other Laura continues to improve.
    And I hope PossumBoy chokes on a kitty kibble. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Holy crap. Yeah, definitely a bad week.I'm sorry to hear about your friend, how awful. Major mojo out to her & her friends and family, and I hope that the improvement today is a sign of better things to come.
    Ugh, tenants. Bad tenants always seem to be matched up with nice landlords and good tenants (in my experince!) end up with jackass landlords. But, that's looking better for you anyway, I hope the next one is an angel.
    Better a possum than a raccoon. They'll drive golf carts around your house turning on all your lights and appliances to jack up your utility bill.

    Reply

  3. Oh this is the very bad no good horriblest week ever. 😦
    I hope your friends hang in there. Damn. That's the pits.
    Possum boy is ridiculous! Can you borrow a live trap from anyone (I have one, but we're kinda far apart) and trap him and take him on a long long drive?
    It's very kind of you to not take a pitchfork to the little dewd. That's what most people I know would do. (not me, o' course, but most people)!
    When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on!
    Love, Poopyhead!

    Reply

  4. Tiny Chemist is moving into a studio to avoid the roommate issue ever again.I get the impression she just wants to find a large rock and pull it on top of her and never come out again.PossumBoy likes him the gooshy foods.Oh, and rice cakes. He stole a rice cake and ate it all over the floor.Other Laura is surrounded with people loving her and hoping for the best.We'll all just take it a day at a time.

    Reply

  5. Previous tenants back there have been wonderful.I think it's just our turn for a creep.The good news is she's leaving.(Dances a little dance — it would be months and lawyers to pry her out.)For unknown reasons, the Raccoon Brothers just hang out in the back yard, smoking and acting tough.Other Laura started off with a sinus infection.Seriously.

    Reply

  6. A sinus infection? Wow! Did it turn into one of those resistant staph infections? Scary stuff! You just never know what will happen. You guys are the best for being there to support her and her family, though. ((((hugs to all))))

    Reply

  7. I chase him out with a broom, and he guilt trips me.I keep meaning to trap the guy…..but (I hate to admit it) he's like the third generation of the mentally deficient Possum Fambly.I worry about relocating him – how will he survive with no gooshy-foods on the floor?If idiot boy Wolfie Cat would just figure out how to open the damn cat door, it would all be fine.He has a magical collar with a magnet on it, but he won't push at the door.(He's lovely, but not technologically savvy.)Still waiting for Tom to call.He's probably in there holding her hand.She likes her hand held.I'm a little better since her sister called.Early days yet.

    Reply

  8. wow – thank god it's Friday
    oh, it's not for you though is it, never mind, next week is going to be fantastic

    Reply

  9. *hug* Ooof..what a week! Mondays haven't left you alone. Go away, Mondays! ::shakes fist:: I hope things start improving tomorrow

    Reply

  10. I can't believe I questioned adding you to my neighborhood. It's like a soap opera over here…complete with a cast of unusually-named characters.

    Reply

  11. Usually things are a little quieter.

    Reply

  12. Geez. At least the week is almost over! Hopefully the next is better for you! Otherwise, you might want to start writing a show about your life soon…

    Reply

  13. You poor thing you really are having a bad time of it. Why does everything seem to happen at once. Well I hope you get your rental situation worked out and get someone decent.I really hope Laura starts to do well. It is really worrying for everyone concerned. That is fantastic that her co-workers are being so supportive of her.

    Reply

  14. There's still another day this week.It is only Thursday.I just noticed that about ten minutes ago.Oh, and I left out renting our other apartment out.The previous tenants managed to wait until just after the term began to give notice.And then the economy crashed.So I missed two weeks rental (tightens belt).But finally found CharmingBrit.CharmingBrit is in his early 20's and tall and skinny with long hair that gets in his eyes.If he weren't all pale and coming from London I'd think he was a surer dude, but he's got the accent and all too.He's got a fancy shamsy post-doc in Chemistry.(Why am I knee-deep in Chemists this yet? Is it significant?)So we did leases and all.He gave me a copy of his grant letter to prove he could pay rent.He wanted me to prove I owned the unit.I'm wondering if this is some normal British thing, or if he thought I seemed too flaky to be a landlord since I didn't have a huge great rental application thing.But it cheered me up after a morning at Oakland Kaiser.(Mostly I find the tenants amusing.)

    Reply

  15. A Charming Brit and a Comedy Possum! I thought for a moment that the possum was a poetry-reading, civilized possum looking for like minds in a world full of thuggish Raccoon Brothers, but since he's third generation he probably sees you and your house as places out of Possum Fambly legend, like Oz, and how disappointing to get to Oz and be chased out with a broom, instead of feasting on Food of the Goosh! Alas, poor possum.Was it Tony James who had the story of the cat with the magnet collar magnetizing himself to the refrigerator?And I'm nattering on like this because it's so freakin' scary that a sinus infection can turn into a brain abscess. I'm glad the news is a little better, and the week is almost over.

    Reply

  16. If you're going through hell, keep on going, don't slow down.Now might be a good time for all me rum ye always be stealin'.My very deepest hopes for Other Laura and her good doctors.

    Reply

  17. I'm so glad to hear that Laura is showing signs of recovery. You got her to the hospital just in time. My friend's baby developed meningitis from an ear infection. He was in a coma for over a week, but he recovered.

    Reply

  18. Yow. When it rains it pours. You need an umbrella. Fortunately you have Vox and your peeps for that.Having worked in the rentals market *and* being a longtime renter, I know well the hell and horror of bad tenants. It's no fun but as you said, you got out smoothly; the second lawyers are involved, you are in hell, an enduring hell. That's a boat I'm glad you missed.Keep us posted on the Other Laura. A bunch of us are sending bunches of good wishes.

    Reply

  19. Dunno…PossumBoy might be the slow one of the fambly, but he did seem to figure out the cat-door and stumble upon warm indoor happiness and free food…guess you have to grudgingly give him credit for that.

    Reply

  20. I think his mom showed him.As I said, I think this is a Possum Fambly tradition.She was one large scary possum.He is smaller, and more charming, sort of.Except for the crapping on the floor bit.

    Reply

  21. I believe he is closely related to our World's Dumbest Possum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

