Honestly, I thought I’d seen it all

http://www.nola.com/news/t-p/capital/index.ssf?/base//news-6/122223371288730.xml&coll=1

Louisiana State Representative John LaBruzzo (Republican — go figure, Metairie) is proposing offering $1000 to pay poor women to have their tubes tied.  Oh, and guys too.

here

LaBruzzo told the The Times-Picayune that what he is “really studying
is any and all possibilities that we can [use to] reduce the number of
people that are going from generational welfare to generational
welfare.” After witnessing the evacuations from hurricanes Katrina and
Gustav, he told the New Orleans City Business that he “realized that
all these people were in Louisiana’s care and what a massive financial
responsibility that is to the state…I said, ‘I wonder if it might be a
good idea to pay some of these people to get sterilized.”

Sorta speechless…

Edit:  See my link! I can has linkz!  (Thanx Waterbaby and YGRS)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

32 responses to this post.

  1. wow. And this guy's a senator huh?wow.

    Reply

  2. and now I'm picturing masses of women being herded like cattle into a giant warehouse to be sterilized and as they're rolled out the other end of the warehouse afterwards their government checks are chucked at them. Again – wow.

    Reply

  3. OK, I'm actually for helping women and men become surgically sterile if they want to and cannot afford the surgery. It's the incentives here that bothers me, the offering of money in exchange. Not to mention the lack of assistance in other areas of reproductive choices (of course this guy is anti-choice). The part of this plan that REALLY bothers me is the tax incentive offered to affluent people to have more children. Um…WHAT? Some of the most useless pieces of shit I've ever known have been wealthy. This helps us how, exactly? More rich people to consume more, loading an even bigger pile of crap onto the earth. GREAT. Way to think this one through.

    Reply

  4. a quick friendly question: are you aware Vox offers a link option? It's the chainlink symbol accessible in Create mode as well as Comments boxes. takes you directly to the link you're supplying with a click. helpful tip i hope.

    Reply

  5. I think it's more about the South (and many Southerners) being very deeply divided where both race and economic class are concerned. Things like this *have* been done in the past – without the consent of those who were sterilized. (And the people targeted were both poor and black.)

    Reply

  6. Or, to (almost) quote Barbara Bush re. the people who were in the Superdome 3 years ago, "They were all underprivileged anyway, so this is working out very well for them."

    Reply

  7. Oh yeah — I didn't mean to imply that I'm not for HELPING women (or men) who want to have it done but can't afford it. I'm just offended by some dimwit thinking that Poor Women as a generalized whole should be coerced into doing that simply for the small money incentive, when really, like you said, it's not the answer to the problem.

    Reply

  8. Killing them would also "reduce the number of
    people that are going from generational welfare to generational
    welfare". He'll probably be sorry that he said that.

    Reply

  9. Some links:

    Reply

  10. Well he did point out that he understands that a majority of welfare recipients are white so he feels he's not targeting race. I buy that but I still hate his execution of this idea.

    Reply

  11. oh my god — I forgot all about that quote. Unbelievable.

    Reply

  12. Of course not! I hadn't seen your comment yet when i wrote mine but I completely agree with you about the creepy image this invokes.

    Reply

  13. I'm not so sanguine, if only because we're really *not* "past" our racist heritage – and because I lived in the South for a while.

    Reply

  14. I was stunned when I 1st heard it, and I still am. But I think she speaks for a lot of people.

    Reply

  15. thanks, I'll try it.(me and technology have a vexed relationship at best……think I'll go out and finish beating my laundry on a rock…)

    Reply

  16. Wow. I feel so naive. I didn't know this shit before. Thanks for the links, e. (although the information made me sad.)

    Reply

  17. Oh yeah, I know all about the eugenics attempts and all. That is creepy creepy shit. Hell people have accused planned parenthood of that when ever they set up clinics in poor neighborhoods, which is insane, as you know. I think the big difference here is that its a government incentive, not a mandate. And it's a shitty incentive because it doesn't cover help with abortions and birth control. And, though I haven't read the law, I'm willing to bet the income level he's proposed starting at is way, way too low. And that's because he's targeting multigenerational abuses of the welfare system – a teeny tiny minority to begin with. The whole thing strikes me as hostile, even though I know there are poor woman out there who would jump on the chance, incentive or no.

    Reply

  18. I think – as you point out – that there are a lot of things going on here, but I am profoundly suspicious of this whole "offer," if only because forced sterilizations have occurred during my adult lifetime. And because this is white guy from one of the worst states (re. racism) in the US – let alone the whole class/entitlement issue.

    Reply

  19. No reason to feel bad – there's been a lot of effort put into keeping it quiet. I 1st found out about the forced sterilization of black women (in one of the deep south states) more or less by accident….

    Reply

  20. LOL! I'm a closeted geek myself. Enjoy the riverbank.

    Reply

  21. I'm from Missouri and have had to endure the "n" word being used at family functions – I'm not at all in denial about the powerful impact of racism and classism and what people think of the undesireables. Shit, plenty of that crap here in NYC, too. Of course that's what this is about. He made that clear when he said he'd propose a tax break for affluent couples to have more babies. It's a crappy law – period.

    Reply

  22. What part of MO? I had to spend time in various parts of the state for a job I once had, and… well, I thought the gap between the haves and have nots was especially striking in St. Louis (city & county). It's not a place I'd want to live, for many reasons.

    Reply

  23. I'm from Columbia, which is a pretty awesome community. it's a college town so there is a lot to do. We have a divide between the two there, as well, though not nearly as bad as St. Louis. Back in the 90's I heard someone claim that St. Louis is one of the more racially segregated cities in the US. Not sure if that's still the case. They've seen a HUGE economic turn-around in the last decade…yet your car WILL get broken into at some point, I've been told. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Columbia: yeah, I've been there, and (I kinda feel bad about saying this!) I was awfully glad to get out and go back to KC. But I was there in the summer, and got sick while I was there, so I didn't get the best impression of the place.

    Reply

  25. omg, this is horrible. The US and China are really more similar than people would like to think. Except in China they're not ashamed to call it eugenics.

    Reply

  26. Eep! Although … I'm not surprised that you would see the link so clearly. And you're right about people here using other names for it…

    Reply

  27. No wonder I'm scared of the land not so down under.

    Reply

  28. Very ugly business.

    Reply

  29. DKN – went to Journalism School there.

    Reply

  30. Sweet! One of the best!

    Reply

  31. @DKN – *the* best.

    Reply

  32. hmm…seems like they're taking a page from indira ghandi's book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

