Dang….

Hip Bone May Hold Breast Cancer Clue

Study: Bone Mineral Density in Hip May Help Predict Breast Cancer Risk in Postmenopausal Women
By
Miranda Hitti
WebMD Health News
Reviewed by
Louise Chang, MD

July 28, 2008 — Hip bone mineral density may be a clue in predicting breast cancer after menopause, a new study shows.

The study, which appears in the Sept. 1 edition of Cancer, links higher hip bone density to increased breast cancer risk in postmenopausal women.

Higher hip bone mineral density may be a reflection of greater
lifetime exposure to estrogen; many (but not all) breast cancers are
estrogen-sensitive.

Of course, if bone mineral density drops too low, that brings different health risks — osteoporosis and fractures.

So this is something of a no-win situation then.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 responses to this post.

  1. no-win situation then. Birth is a death sentence……..

    Reply

  2. Gee I'm sorry I left such a droopy comment. It's true, but not very cheerful.

    Reply

  3. true, but not very cheerful – sort of like the news

    Reply

  4. Yes….*sigh*That really is an interesting article you posted…staying current with the latest research is very tough to do. I'm going to go look at it now, to see who funded the study (if that's available).

    Reply

  5. THE main reason I pay absolutely no attention to this kind of news. This is just me, but I'd rather live my life the best and healthiest I can and the medical establishment and their pronouncements be damned. You can never get it right by them so why bother?

    Reply

  6. sigh indeed…. no way to win. I'm with jaypo.

    Reply

  7. I think we should post on *menopause* since so many of us are at that age. My mother never went thru a natural menopause because she had a partial hysterectomy when she was young. It would be good to *compare notes* with some that are going thru it now, and ones that have already completed it. I've read lots of articles, but none seem to answer my questions. And any advancement towards a cure for breast cancer is a big plus+!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

