What Hillary said

You know, I'm getting pretty tired of Edwards, who appears to be running really, really hard for a vp slot with Obama – unless he's hoping the two big guys will destroy each other, leaving the meek and slimy to inherit the earth.
And I'm rather annoyed at this whole non-issue.
And I'm more than a little tired at what seems to me to be a consistent media bias against Hillary.

For anyone who hasn't been paying attention,
here's what one of my favorite media watchers has to say about this whole thing.

[From http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com/horsesmouth

 

I'm not letting go of this one — sorry. The New York Times has — for the third time,
now — printed a truncated version of Hillary's controversial quote
about Martin Luther King in a piece running in Sunday's paper.

Adding to the absurdity, this time the paper did it in an article that was about whether her words had been distorted. Seriously. The piece is entitled, "Clinton Accuses Obama Camp of Distorting Her Words."

Presumably an article about this subject would contain
Hillary's actual quote, to allow readers to make up their own minds
about what she meant. But this is how The Times's Adam Nagourney and Patrick Healy characterize the comments:

This was what Mrs. Clinton said on Monday: “Dr. King’s
dream began to be realized when President Lyndon Johnson passed the
Civil Rights Act of 1964. It took a president to get it done.” At a
later stop, she said that her remark had not captured what she had
sought to portray.

Actually, this isn't what Mrs. Clinton said on Monday, which is pretty bizarre, considering that The Times began that paragraph with, "this is what Mrs. Clinton said on Monday." The full quote — what Hillary really said — is 

"I would point to the fact that that Dr. King's dream began to be
realized when President Johnson passed the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
when he was able to get through Congress something that President
Kennedy was hopeful to do, the President before had not even tried, but
it took a president to get it done. That dream became a reality, the
power of that dream became a real in people's lives because we had a
president who said we are going to do it, and actually got it
accomplished."

I'm going to try to say this as clearly as I can. Even if you think the
edited version of the quote isn't a distortion of the original in any
way, that still doesn't mean you don't have an obligation to share the
original quote with readers.

And since Obama's campaign folks are calling this insulting to MLK, and Edwards has been hopping up and down with a big "me too", it is worth trying to see why this is supposedly such an awful thing to have said.
Somehow I don't see why this is supposed to be so awful – she is pointing out how a president can be a force for desired change, which seems like something we might actually need reminding of after two terms of GWB.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

13 responses to this post.

  1. I do not trust the media. I view it all through squinted eyes. So much propaganda everywhere.
    The candidates know this. So, for me, therein lies the candidate's
    truth serum. I try to ascertain how much the candidates are playing the
    propaganda chess game. The less the candidate plays, the better. I'm not explaining myself very well.I plan to vote for Hillary. I ignore the media. Or, view it as a show. And I worry about how many people forget they have brains and take it seriously.

    Reply

  2. I haven't read tpm for a while…should probably just add it back to my rss feed. Cuz damn. Thank you so much for posting this.

    Reply

  3. I agree… The actual quote should be referenced, and this particular quote wasn't that bad. I don't get how that's racist, as some are claiming it to be. Someone had to bring it up. Might as well blame it on the woman. After all, isn't everything our fault anyway? 🙂 kidding.

    Reply

  4. Well the only thing I can see in all this political crap is just that– crap.

    Reply

  5. The media always takes things like that and make it seem far worse. I never pay attention to them or the dirt the candidates come up with on each other. How childish.

    Reply

  6. I hate politics. I hate the media. I hate the two mixed together aside from the once in awhile well written political piece (or is that an oxymoron?)

    Reply

  7. grrrrrrrrrr. The media in our great country is so out of line. Yes the actual quote should have been included and then Americans can decide for themselves how they perceive it. Thanks for posting this.

    Reply

  8. You can't choose between the will of a dream and an act of a President. In an ideal world, the two work together.
    I can see where this is all going. It's too bad, really, because this could have been an interesting and intelligent race.

    Reply

  9. Yes, I am walking around muttering to myself.A bad sign, and annoying to those I live with, but it's probably better than weeping.

    Reply

  10. What is it about these people? What has she done to deserve all this? I will be writing a short comment about Barack's covert sexism when it pertains to Hillary. Let me know if you see this also. It may take a day or two to get to it but I am seeing this little undercurrent of sexism. It's about him comparing her to her husband simply because she is a woman who's husband was a President. She can't think for herself and will just fall in line behind him.

    Reply

  11. I hate the media because everything becomes garbled even when it isn't a political story but when it is political it gets stired five wasy to next sunday and none of it is real or right or even close to reality.
    I can see how they could scramble that and why were the speech makers not sorting that out better so that the intent of her speech would have been more clear. A bad turn of Phrase can be so devistating but also why is the press picking a part such a minor infraction For God sakes we have GW making faux paus left and right and they barely mention them.

    Reply

  12. This is very well thought out, very well explained and I am glad you wrote it. It helps me a lot to read from other people's views, rather than getting it all from the media (ie the horses ass).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

