I’m not a politician, I just play one on TV

It's the perennial cry of the politician:
I'm not a political insider!
Elect me, I'm not one of them.
About the tenth time around on this one it gets pretty damn old.
(Of course, GW Bush as political outsider has to remain my favorite: the son of the former CIA director, vice-president, and president, oh, but not an insider.)
So far as I can tell, anyone running for president is an insider.
And I'm not sure why that's supposed to be such a bad thing.
Cleaning up the present mess is going to be a huge job for whoever gets elected.
It isn't a question of change/not change.
We will get the lunatics and the flat-earthers out of the White House, and that will be a huge change.
But whoever does get the job is going to be busy.
We have two wars, the ice caps melting, the economy gutted; you name it, it's broken.
I want someone who knows the ropes and can hit the ground running.
I want someone who will be able to rebuild an effective government out of the shambles eight years of Bush has produced.
I want a person with connections, a person who already knows who they want to appoint to the EPA, the Bureau of Consumer Affairs, FEMA, that sort of thing.
An insider.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

14 responses to this post.

  1. THANK YOU!!!!!!!! I've been screaming abbreviated versions of this at my TV for years — you've spelled it all out so even those wackadoodles who are running/running things could understand it — yay!!!!!

    Reply

  2. flat-earther. 🙂 I love that. I just hope that whole "get the lunatics" thing isn't replaced with yet another set of lunatics.

    Reply

  3. Speaking of which:A CNN e-mail poll Tuesday, while
    not scientific, had more than 11,000 people responding with 94 percent
    saying they were tired of the national media reporting on the
    presidential race in terms of charisma, change, dynasty, momentum and
    likeability.–From the SF Chronicle.Yes.Would somebody just tell those guys to shut the fuck up if they aren't going to do their job.Yeah, go ask the candidates some real questions.And stick it out until you get real answers.But quit trying to tell me who I like, and who has charisma, and who doesn't.

    Reply

  4. A.men.The press always comes at things from the lowest common denominator. And you can't trust what they say any more than you can politicians. Fuckahs.

    Reply

  5. sigh***********

    Reply

  6. LOL! Great post!

    Reply

  7. Hi Lauo! Missed you!
    Good points!

    Reply

  8. EXcellent points, lauo. You summed it up nicely, as usual!
    Did you see the headline today (paraphrase) "Bush says Middle East Peace accord will be signed before he is out of office."
    Sheesh. How about before he is out of his mind. Too late.

    Reply

  9. Oh, may I also add….don't you almost HAVE to be a lunatic to want that job???
    SIGH.
    I'm hopin' for Obama. At least right now.

    Reply

  10. Lauowolf!!! (catches breath) Be still my beating heart. (I *thought* about typing 'fart', buuuuuut I din't.) Winks! (points at lauo and snerklesz) Whaere Haeve Yeau Mr. Beeeen?A great mind is a turble teing to wayust. (You may be excused if your excuse is related to yer flautist-ballerina baby.)From, pyrit on teh eastern most coast, to you on teh western most coast)A mug o'rum awaits you at mah place when're yeau make port.

    Reply

  11. I've just been being flumoxed.First there was Nutcracker, where I not only have to go see my kiddie dance, but I run a raffle at every show, involving shepherding groups of a dozen twelve year-olds around to sell tickets and be cute, and not just talk to their friends and eat in costume.I also have to not lose the prizes, or forget to give the list of prizes to the soundboard guy, or the basket of tickets to the lady who draws the winners on stage.And 10 pm after the last show, after we had people over at the house (but fortunately someone else fed them, so I got to avoid a Typhoid Mary syndrome), I came down with the hideous flu, just in time for Christmas.And Sair had to write college essays due Jan. 1, and I had to assemble paperwork for grades and stuff, as if I was a high school office.But we went across the country to see Sair's cousin on the 26th, came back on the 30th, and only just got the stragglers in under the deadline.(One more batch due the 15th. Shudder.)Oh, and my tenant gave notice on the 5th, just in time for me to miss showing the place before finals, and basically that meant not until this week when students are finally getting back to town.And the dear boy hadn't told me the ceiling in the back room had been leaking, so I have to get the roof fixed, the ceiling sheet\rocked, and the whole thing painted before we rent it out.We still have to get a flute audition CD recorded to send out, but I'm not thinking about that before Sair gets around to writing an essay about why she might want to go to U of Oregon.(Or really, about something important to her, and why it means she might want to UO….)And there is hideous financial paperwork I have to start assembling too, but tomorrow is another day.(Is that some kind of threat?)And, and, well I'm sure there's other junk, but most of the last six weeks is beginning to be a merciful blur.I remember that Mr. Boe gave me a half-dozen mice.Did I mention that Sair's computer basically sucks, so all the essay writing takes place on my computer?Basically, I think maybe I need more like a vat of rum.And i'll just go hide in it.

    Reply

  12. Lauo, such worries. Dear, we love having one of you but it seems you need two these days. You leave a bit of your DNA in a Rob petri dish on the front step. We'll pick it up in the morning and clone away. Would you prefer to be Lauo AKA Dolly Lauo-ma the sheep, or a cat or a woolly mammoth? May I suggest a rhesus monkey? For your typing/college submission needs? You get enough monkeys and they'll type the Bible. And we thought cloning had ethical issues. Nah, go with the woolly mammoth, that way, when your demands subside, you can bid a grateful adieu to it with no guilt since they're extinct anyway. Don't know if they can type though. Think it over. Meanwhile…this too shall pass? It really will. Cyber hugs? We miss you. We'll be here when you surface. PS. I often think of Sair when I hear flute solos. Lovely.PSS. Sure. Rum. Vats galore.

    Reply

  13. I am with you on both counts. My life is spiralling out of control and the Election stuff is just the stick I keep getting whacked in the head with every time I pick myself up from the ground. I am for Hillary because there is just too much work to be done. I really don't think charisma is all we need in the White House. While I like Barack and will vote for him if the time comes I really want to have changes happen immediately. I am totally hating how the media is swaying people just for a public skullfucking of everybody involved. I have felt sorry for most of the candidates at some point. Even the ones I don't like. We haven't even gotten to the part where the Repukicans start sticking their shovels into the Democrat's spines. Even Britney doesn't get the daily hammering that Hillary does. Every single newsperson has amusing anecdotes about how wonderful Hillary is and then they do all they can to try and flay her publicly so they can be the one that finally got her. Tim Russert, Chris Matthews, etc. all say what a wonderful well meaning lady she is and how smart and experienced she is and then they pull out the dogs and ponys and "make the news" rather than covering it. The latest gossip is that the Republicans fixed the New Hampshire election by fussing with the voting machines because they want to further divide the Dems. Oh, and they want to run against Hillary for her "unlikability". I actually like her. I see nothing unlikable about her other than all the things the other side has been saying about her for twenty years. Shoot, she was the first lady and they even had bumper stickers way back then against her. WTF is that all about. I like survivors. WE all need to survive and I would rather have somebody who has fought the good fight than somebody who looks nice in a suit and has a pretty wife and two lovely kids. That's just me. Four years is not enough time to learn the job currently. They will be left with a huge mess and they better know what to do with it. While I abhor war and want all the troops home I can see total and violent mayhem taking place and tens of thousands of innocent "people" being killed because of the "Retarded One's" actions over the last seven years. I am not just an American. I am human first and if we simply pull our troops out immediately without a plan many more of them and tens of thousands of innocent people will be tortured and maimed and killed horribly. The worst day I had while Bill Clinton was President was the day he left office. They always compare Barack to JFK and all that says to me is nothing. He didn't last long and he put friends and family members in high places, cheated on his wife, and not much else. He is a mythic hero and I am finding it hard to see the heroism. Yes, the Bay of Pigs was a successful endeavor but we have thousands of Bays of Pigs all over the world. I admire Barack. I find him to be a man of integrity. I know that he could have had the world as his oyster when he got out of school but opted to do civil and human rights instead. He is an honorable man and I would prefer him as a Vice President in training for the number one spot. I hear allot of what is going to be done from him but I hear it as a mandate rather than an option. I don't want another controlling person with a "because I said so " attitude like the decider. We have barely survived this seven years of inexperience and I am totally ready for a change. A change of high ideals for all Americans. If Barack already can't accept gay marriage because it is against his religion then he pretty well keeps me in a second class citizen category because of a book of fairy tales written 2000 years ago. I don't find that acceptable. She isn't much better but the Clintons have done many things on behalf of people like me. There have been mistakes also but they have already been admitted and I am confident they will be corrected. Any non Republican is my dream for this election. I want healthcare for children, affordable education, and I want the large companies to get their hooks out of the American process and be taxed at the same rate we are. There just isn't an October Surprise in Hillary's closet but we aren't sure about Barack. None of us ever even heard of him a few years ago. I believe in high ideals but they have to be achievable. Right now we will be lucky to survive the economic crash that will happen in six months when all these sub prime mortgages default. Having already known a bunch of people who lost their homes and seeing our economy bled into corporate banks accounts I can't help but want the strongest, most experienced President available. We have the entire rest of our lives for high ideals once we survive what is about to happen. I think she needs to clean things up to a manageable point and then he can sweep into office and take us to the next level. I am hopeful for both of them. They are both good people. Nobody has ever convinced me that she isn't one of the most impeccably principled person in public life. I wish them all well. If Huckabee or Romney even touch the lawn at the White House I will be leaving the United States. Watch CNN. They have become very slithery lately and seem to be the next Fox News coming our way. I haven't even been able to watch them lately.

    Reply

  14. What he said.Oh, and I guess if they didn't keep telling us how "unlikeable" she is, no one would know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

