QotD: Indecision 2008 — and every year!

What do you think of Stephen Colbert's satirical bid for the U.S. Presidency?  

All for it, the more the merrier.

But you gotta love the classics.
(From Nobody's Campaign Manager, at nobodyforpresident.org)

On December 8, 1975, at the United
State Cafe
, on Haight
Street
, in San Francisco, I spoke with Wavy
Gravy
about voter
apathy
.

I pointed to some statistics that
showed people were not registering
to vote
and aproximately 50% or less of the registered voters made
it to the polls.

Wavy responded, "You mean Nobody is
winning the Presidential elections?"

That question became the
spark that ignited the Birthday
Party's
"Nobody for President Campaign".

Wavy became "Nobody's
Fool
", I became "Nobody's Campaign
Manager
", and the rest is history.

 

For those of you who missed the campaign, the platform contained such undeniable gems as:

Because Nobody really cares about the voters.
Because Nobody deserves this much power.

And, hey, the percentage of people voting for Nobody just keeps going up.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

13 responses to this post.

  1. Damn. I am about to vote for Nobody.We have GOT to get out of this two party rut, urgh, excuse THAT term, but shit, we need somebody NEW!!!! We need Nobody!!! I just finished reading Stephen Colbert's book "I Am America (and you can, too)"Oh, lord, it's funny!

    Reply

  2. And what about Pat Paulsen?

    Reply

  3. Another classic.(And apparently also a really nice guy.)

    Reply

  4. Yay!!! PAT!! He was mine for this post — !

    Reply

  5. OK , all together now: "Noooooooo-body does it better…makes me feel sad for the rest …. " — NOBODY gets my vote – no contest! LOL – great post!!!

    Reply

  6. Obviously the campaign song.And remember, You can trust Nobody.

    Reply

  7. Because nobody cares.Gee, I liked the '70's!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  8. I am just laughing that Wavy Gravy is still around! I have just decided that I will vote for a woman this time because men have had eternity to screw things up. Some may not like the somebody I am voting for but I think she'll be alright. Nobody is who we've had for President for almost two terms. Perhaps Gary Coleman will run like he did for Gubner of Cali. We haven't had a black midget have we? I wrote myself in one year thinking that they would announce it on the news. "And Myke Ondek of Washington DC got one vote". Nothing. Not even a blurb in the paper. Yeah I guess I voted for nobody before,lol. At least I sure felt like nobody when they didn't announce it.

    Reply

  9. "Who's On First?"

    Reply

  10. And what's on second.

    Reply

  11. I don't know is on third

    Reply

Leave a Reply

