If your old mommy really loved you, she’d pay the ransom

Kitty still harbors doubts about us, even when he's letting me pat him.
He'll purr like crazy, and then turn around and stare at me.
I think he's noticed I'm not Patricia.
But I am working hard to become an acceptable substitute.

He's in one of his three refuges.
There's behind the toilet, now improved by a considerable amount of kitty litter.
Kitten is an enthusiastic burier of things.
There's in the shelf where the towels normally live.
Towels now live in the laundry room, because kitty needs a fortress.
And there's this, the bottom shelf behind the door.

Kitty's moustache is seriously lopsided.
But he does, really, have lovely round eyes.
And he is desperately soft and glossy.
I will try to get a better picture when he next is feeling more tame than cautious.

He still hisses at you when he feels pressured.
But then he'll notice that you have a hand, and he'll start rubbing against it and purring.
And teething, hard.
And he seriously likes words that begin with Bs.
So we are calling him baby boy, and baubau, and Mister B, and other things that may yet turn into a name.

He's going to the vet Tuesday morning for check up.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

30 responses to this post.

  1. Awwwwww! He's so cute! I love his little tilted stashio!

    Reply

  2. Oh, what a cutie! He does look very glossy and soft like Maddie. We should start a tuxedo kitty club on Vox! :)I'm sure he'll adjust. Whenever we move, Madeline is hissy and cautious for a little while.

    Reply

  3. How cute that he has a preferred sound. And what a naughty post title, naughty Lauo.

    Reply

  4. Awwww! =) He's so cute! (Yeah, I sound like Carlisa right there, but that was my first reaction)It's so funny that he likes B words

    Reply

  5. Beautiful bo-bo binky cat. (I tried to make "cat" start with "b", but I just couldn't do it.) I love his little mustache. Looks like he tried to paste on a fake one, and missed.
    He'll tame eventually. He's showing good signs. (I don't have any words of advice, other than keep at it.) My Geordie's kittens were very wild and hissy, but after we got them out of the place George had hidden them, and started feeding them, they came around. For a while they wouldn't have anything to do with us, and then suddenly one day they were happy-to-see-ya lovey cats. (I think they figured out where the crunchies and gooshyfood were coming from…)
    Positive thoughts. He's a sweetie-boy.

    Reply

  6. Very adorable, I'm sure he'll warm up quickly! Inspector Clouseau would approve of his moustache, I think! Excellent disguise.

    Reply

  7. We just had another cuddle session.This time he let me come and go without having to go through hissies each time, so things are getting better.When he drinks water he purrs and makes little biscuit paws beside the bowl.Oh, and he teethed on my big toe.

    Reply

  8. Awwwwww! Bless him – he is lovely! How about Bernard, Bertram, Boris, Bert or Brian? (Sorry, I have a thing about old fashioned human names for animals – a friend had a cat named Barbara which I thought was wonderful.)

    Reply

  9. I love Bertram!kitteh looks like a Bertramand then you can nickname him Bertieas in Bertie Woosterso you get a bonus Hugh Laurie

    Reply

  10. He seems to have become Mr. Boe, as in Edgar Allan Boe, Bee Bi Boe, Boe.(I like Bertie as a name, but when I got down here this morning he seems to have become Mr. Boe already.)

    Reply

  11. Edgar Allen Poe was born in Boston.Oh look, it's October already.

    Reply

  12. beautiful baby boy!still hoping for Bertie.jaunty 'stache.what a cute little guy, who will grow up to be a Big Handsum Tukseedo Cat like someone of my household.

    Reply

  13. Bertram?

    Reply

  14. yay! for more cuddles and teething sessions with little Mr. Boe! he looks like the perfect size for hugs. (all cats are, i guess)I hope he continues to adjust to his new home and family smoothly. he's a cutie-pie!

    Reply

  15. Mr. Boe and the Tell-Tale Purr.

    Reply

  16. More like the tattle-tale purr."I'm a fierce wild feral baby.Hssssss.Oh, I'm being patted.Purr, purr, purr,Oops,fierce wild.. oh foo, Here, try that patting on my belly."

    Reply

  17. Baby Bundle of be be bop. How adorable pretty sure you have the situation well in hand. So nice to move things to give em hiding spots. Bubble Bubble.

    Reply

  18. He'll be our fifth Berkeley tuxie cat from off the streets.It's a fine vintage.

    Reply

  19. Bell Biv Bevoe?Berkeley Bo the kitty hobo?Mr. Bobo.

    Reply

  20. Mr. Boe-jangles?

    Reply

  21. Mister Boe-kitty will dance for you

    Reply

  22. O! O! O! What a doll-baby kittykat!! So sweet!((((hugs))) to the baby!!!

    Reply

  23. Been out of circulation for a few days – and find not only has kitty been introduced to the world but he has a name! What a cute little fella – love the misstache (as I suppose a misplaced moustache would be called).Tuxedo cat group? Now that's a good idea!

    Reply

  24. Mr. Misstache – I love it.

    Reply

  25. Mr. Boe-tie and tails!Soooo cute!

    Reply

  26. awww, he's so cute! Hope he is still adjusting well!

    (btw: I was sure you were in my'hood, but it turned out that you weren't-now you are; welcome in!)

    Reply

  27. It's been a while – how's kitty life going?

    Reply

  28. I'm trying to get pictures tonight.He likes us.He's a wuv.

    Reply

  29. oh yay! more pics!I'm glad he's wuvy and happy. 😀

    Reply

  30. But he's teething like mad.He's getting in his new canines, but he hasn't lost his old ones, so he really teethes hard with the extra tooths.And now that I'm mommy, he nums on me.Choomp!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

