In which I do a convincing imitation of a high school

This is the year the homeschooling birds come home to roost, if that makes any sense.
It's create-a-transcript time.
And SAT taking time.
And college application time.
GAG.
And it's just us, no guidance counselors.
So lots of research involved.
(WANTED: large, excellent urban university with music (flute), academics (math, linguistics), and perhaps dance. Oh, and it has to let her in too.)

I know what needs to go into the transcript.
We've done lots and lots of stuff in the past four years.
Now, however, it's time to figure out how to put it all into something that looks organized.
Some of it is easy — her math tutor can make what they've done make sense.
Ditto Latin.
There were text books for these, and there'll be an SAT II subject test score as backup.
Things like English and history will be a little more impressionistic — no yearly textbooks, so I have to invent a framework for it all.

So if I disappear for a week or so at a time between now and February, you can pretty much figure out what I'm up to.  

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

13 responses to this post.

  1. How exciting! Good luck.

    Reply

  2. One of my friends said her dad got a program that was sort of 'fill in the blanks' and it created a transcript. She's 18 now and in her junior year (I think) at one of the universities here in town. She did several course at juco starting when she was 16.Another friend of mine made her son's transcripts by hand but he did the same college-in-high-school thing, although he went straight to the university. He's just finished law school at U of Chicago and a doctorate in … something I can't remember.Good luck! I'm not looking forward to it šŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. "You know you got to go through Hell before you get to Heaven…."
    Good for you and Sarah. Good luck.

    Reply

  4. Great post title too. And, yes, the first line makes wonderful, clever sense.

    Reply

  5. ***Heavy sigh*** I don't know what I'm gonna do when T gets to HS. I get stumped on 4th grade math!
    b/t/w…didn't see this post. I was certain I swung by your vox house yesterday. This sez you posted 2 days ago (?!)

    Reply

  6. This IS good!I am sure you can do a whole heck of a lot better job than a supposedly "real" guidance counselor! I swear, if I hadn't been watching everything that was going on, nagging the kids to nag the counselors, (one day after Ash had had NO luck getting an appointment to see the counselor either by email, or signing up on the "appointment list" I told her she might have to pretend to be suicidal. Ok, not really, but geez)….we finally managed to get their transcripts sent out to the colleges. A bit late, though. I mean, crap, this is those peoples' JOBS. I feel sorry for all the kids whose parents aren't keeping an eye on stuff.Car, I pooped out in math at geometry! They have tutors the kids can sign up for in the high schools. The kids have to have the gumption to go to teachers and counselors to ask about tutors or extra help if they need it. (it was hard for me to get my youngest to get help, but he finally did, the turd) *extra points* count how many times there were "poop references" in this post. šŸ˜› Sorry, guys! šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  7. Comment, I meant in this "comment". I didn't notice any poop in the post itself! šŸ˜›

    Reply

  8. They have a program with the rec center I'm going to try to get him into. Everything costs money, and it's not exactly raining down on us right now. This is only $20 for the year, I think. You can't really expect an 8 y/o to be busting down the doors to go to the counselor–I get lost teaching him because math has changed just a wee bit since I was in school some 30 plus years ago and I don't think I'm allowed a tutor šŸ˜¦

    Reply

  9. Oh good grief, I didn't mean that an 8 year old should be able to bust down doors to go to the counselor! I was talking about high school age, kids!8 year olds need all help they can get! My own high school students were pretty low on the motivation, let alone when they were 8!It's not always motivation, either. Going around talking to adults can be a scary thing to do. They have to gain confidence. I gained confidence in MYself at around…32?

    Reply

  10. Only problem is, they keep changing the method of teaching tings and it leaves the parents lost (spesh old farts like me!) Tony's teacher (against her will) has agreed to let him bring his math book home. Thank God, because I need to see the examples. He's doing great so far this year, though. I've been trying to give him space to make his own mistakes. I try to make *suggestions* on some things, but if he argues, I let him take it on to school just like that, šŸ˜¦
    LOL, I was a grandma at 32– meep!

    Reply

  11. Yes, but were you a confident grandma?No, it is really hard for kids that young to go as for help from random adults.I don't know how any of them manage.Eight?Forget it.I think I was just hiding out at eight.

    Reply

  12. I've never been 100% confident at any point in my life, but I was sufficient, I guess šŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Actually, I bet having kids young helped with that.Even if you aren't confident inside, you are the grown-up.100%?Ha. I wouldn't claim that now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

