Got Meme?

Gunderson Bee passed this along:

1. One book that changed your life: Which time? Oh I don't know. Let's say Adelle Davis for getting me started thinking about food and nutrition, and questioning ideas I'd been raised with. It all sticks together, question one thing, and it all starts giving way.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:  Diane Duane's Book of Night with Moon. Lovely fantasy with cat wizards saving the world. I've read it out loud to Sarah at least four times. Also Lord of the Rings. Both difficult bedtime reading if you hit the wrong part. There have been nights I've just kept reading for hours to get Bilbo out from the dragon's den and the like.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:  Divine Comedy, though I'd want to cheat and have my notes, and dictionaries, and all too. Hey, and Professor Stephanini too, to read it aloud for me (as long as I'm wishing, alas).

4. One book that made you laugh: Anything by Douglas Adams.

5. One book that made you cry: The Iliad, Lattimore translation. Another read aloud, and dang, but that gets hard. Sair's very patient about her mom sniffling while reading the rough parts. (Priam pleading for Hector's body, anyone?)

6. One book that you wish you had written:  Vladimir Nabokov's Ada. Or Lolita. Or Pale Fire.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:  Nope, can't even censor here. Don't like it, don't read it.

8. One book you’re currently reading:  Connie Willis Domesday Book. Time traveler going back to the middle ages just in time to hit the Black Death. Everyone dies.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read: Hugh Kennedy, When Bagdad Ruled the Muslim World. But it's a hardcover, so I can't take it in the bathtub to read…. I will get to it, really.

10. Now tag [five] people: ???

Now I can't get the damn bold to turn off, and it's 12:30 at night…Foo.
I don't know, who hasn't done it yet?
You know who you are….Hop to it, and I can stop shouting (virtually) and go to bed.
(As soon as I get my heroine into the wayback machine and off to her adventures.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

12 responses to this post.

  1. Going to look up Douglas Adams. Could use a laugh or two.

    Reply

  2. Night with Moon – fantastic! She had her cats just right, she did.Douglas Adams – I met him once. He was signing copies of So Long, and I already had it, so I just bought a badge that read Life. Don't Talk to Me about Life, which I wore till it fell to pieces.Domesday Book – I loved this. The way the present and past weave together is brilliant. Best thing she did, by far.

    Reply

  3. Did you know Duane is doing the last book of the series, available on-line?She's got Chapters 1-7 up, and is about to post 8.(You can subscribe, and end up with a bound hard copy at the end, and get chapters right when they come out — then chapters turn public at some point.)Douglas Adams.I am so envious, badge and even brief sighting.Willis, I liked Bellwether too.A little sillier, but great.SM– yes, Douglas Adams.A must read, and very cheering.

    Reply

  4. Series? Series? I only heard of one! <rushes off to search amazon, interweb, anywhere to find out more detail>

    Reply

  5. Read on, lauowolf. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  6. Douglas Adams is good for a few dozen laughs, at least, Bookmole! And
    try both of his series, the Hitchhiker's Guide books and the Dirk
    Gently books.

    Hooray for The Lord of the Rings!

    The only Connie Willis I've ever read, apart from a volume of short
    stories, is "To Say Nothing of the Dog," which I adore. I've heard that
    Bellwether and the Doomsday Book are even better, but they sound like
    more straightforward sci fi, which doesn't really interest me.

    Reply

  7. Bookmole — lucky, lucky you.That's my favorite thing in the world, is to get a new book from someone I like.The Visit the Queen is fun.And then the on-line one is next.You do know it's the same universe as the Young Wizards series, which is a young adult series, but perfectly readable by adults.(Oh, just in case anyone wants to start yelping about "young wizards" and Harry Potter rip offs?The shoe's on the other foot — HP came out in 1997, YW started off in 1983.)And AuntieMalika–We just finished reading To Say Nothing of the Dog two days ago.Doomsday book is the same fictional world, but, as I say, a little darker, what with everyone dying.Bellwether is wickedly, wickedly funny.If you liked TSNofTD, you will like it.

    Reply

  8. Wow…How do you manage to do all that reading with 4 cats. Mine want to be bookmarkers. Oooops! Now I know why I haven't seen Mittens for a while…"Here, kitty… kitty!"

    Reply

  9. I am such the non reader lately. Th book I read over and over was "The Good Earth" by Pearl Buck. I have no excuse. I sell the NYT Bestsellers in my store so it is more time than desire.

    Reply

  10. This is a great post! It really makes me think about all the books I have read! Lord of the Rings eight times!I HAVE to check out the Duane books for SURE!!!! And, the Black Plague book sounds great (especially the spoiler…"everyone dies") LOL!!!Thanks for sharing all of this….more stuff on my "I want" list! :DI need to revisit Douglas Adams. It's been WAY too long!

    Reply

  11. ALL of Connie Willis' works are worth reading, and frankly I would chain you all down and force you to read them if I could."Passages" — do NOT read at bedtime, or you won't sleep till it's done, and your head will be spinning, and you'll be crying but in a good way. It's heartbreaking and uplifting and thought-provoking all at the same time.(Connie and I go way way back. She's let me touch her awards, even! The one she got for "Passages" is purtier than the one she got for "Domesday Book", but she was equally excited.)Diane Duane's "Young Wizards" series is also just the bestest. The first is "So You Want to Be a Wizard?" and I cannot recommend them highly enough. If a kid asked, which should I read, Rowling or Duane, I'd snatch the pounds of the Potter boy away from them and give them Duane instead.

    Reply

  12. You know Connie Willis?i am so impressed.Sair is reading Passages right now — and finishing up alone at flute camp, poor dear.("This isn't going to end well, is it?" she asked, as she packed the 3/4 finished book in her bag.)Diane Duane's Young Wizard series is golden, as are the cat wizard books.I swear bits of Book of Night with Moon are Miltonic.Grand, grand stuff.You really know Connie Willis?So, does she walk on water too, or is writing like an angel enough?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

