Probably just looking for Gideon’s Bible

Personally, I just consider this payback for the bay area snails….

(From the Washington Post)

KASSEL, Germany — In 1934, top Nazi party
official Hermann Goering received a seemingly mundane request from the
Reich Forestry Service. A fur farm near here was seeking permission to
release a batch of exotic bushy-tailed critters into the wild to
"enrich the local fauna" and give bored hunters something new to shoot
at.

Goering approved the request and unwittingly uncorked an ecological disaster that is still spreading across Europe. The imported North American species, Procyon lotor, or the common raccoon, quickly took a liking to the forests of central Germany.
Encountering no natural predators — and with hunters increasingly
called away by World War II — the woodland creatures fruitfully
multiplied and have stymied all attempts to prevent them from
overtaking the Continent.

The Germans call them Waschbaeren, or "wash bears."

Apparently Kassel, in the central state of Hesse and where they were initiallt released, has lots, and is not happy about it.

I know how they feel; we have a raccoon dynasty in our garage.

I wish I knew who to blame.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

12 responses to this post.

  1. Unless raccoons can swim really really well, or learn how to hang under trucks as they come through the Chunnel, I am safe from this disaster.But then, there we already have mink and copyu flourinshing and killing native species. One day, people will learn to respect nature a bit. Should we actually have any left!

    Reply

  2. I know they are a pest. They are just so damn cute.

    Reply

  3. Go Rocky Boy. Duh. She is slow, but sure dammit.

    Reply

  4. And stop littering.The picture of the Native American Indian,comes to mind,with a tear in his eye,as you watch people throw trash on city streets and sidewalks,here in my country",America The Beautiful".

    Reply

  5. I'm thinking the need to work them into the tourist thing in Kassel."Home of the European Raccoon."They could have a theme park….

    Reply

  6. I fear this article will confirm Crankypants' theory about just how evil raccoons really are…

    Reply

  7. Evil nazi-collaborating raccoons are going through her garbage even as we type..

    Reply

  8. Lauo, I'm jealous! You may "unleash" a few here. ACTUALLY, we have some that get into the dumpsters. I try not to look in there when I throw the trash out. I certaintly don't want to feel guilty if I injure it, and I'd look pretty funny with my fat tocks hanging out of the dumpster trying to pull a terrified raccoon from there.

    Reply

  9. I really wouldn't try to pull a raccoon out of a dumpster.Good way to lose a finger.Maybe put in a climbable board.(On the other hand, Felix my old tabby Buddha cat, hung out with them.Of course he sort-of looked like a raccoon too.)

    Reply

  10. aaaack! They ARE evil!
    And Bill Bryson wrote about something similar happening in Australia with, I believe, rabbits, or hares…they wanted something to shoot at so they brought over some rabbits and now they have multiplied like, well, rabbits, and have destroyed all kinds of vegetation and have effed with the ecosystem…stupid white men invaders….

    Reply

  11. I had never seen a raccoon in person until about 1981 when one night I came outside after hearing a noise. I couldn't locate it… It was a sort of clawing. When I noticed something moving near me out of the corner of my eye, my hair just about stood on end as I realized that there were 3 of them crawling down a pecan tree about 10 feet from me. Astounding – I made it all this time not knowing they were anywhere near us, and here they were right outside my house. Luckily they don't make flying leaps as I was brought up to believe. I retreated back to safety before they clawed my eyes out.

    Reply

  12. But they have such a cute name in German!Why, why are humans so stupid? How does this work–we have the largest brains for our body size and we are the stupidest critters? Always with the introducing exotic species.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

