Ain’t it grand

When we moved into our current house, the previous owners left behind a really great planter.
It was a soft blue ceramic pot, about 20 inches tall that I kept planted with purple and blue pansies.
Until someone dumped it out and walked off with it.

I couldn't ever quite replace it, though I found a couple of cobalt and white pots to put in its place.
They are chained in place through the drain hole, and locked onto the porch rail.
So far they are all still in place.

Images-1Images

 

I was mostly thinking about Michellemybelle's wandering grill.
Mostly you aren't defending yourself from the CIA or the Mafia.
I'm fairly certain it was the jerky students from across the street that swiped my planter.
And MMB's grill was probably just some jerks with a truck — a crime of opportunity.

The idea is not to just set it up to happen again.
You make it less convenient.
Not impossible, but too much of a pain in the neck to bother with.
Probably if the Mafia wanted your grill (let's say you get a really, really good one), they'll be able to get it no matter what you do.
But if it's just Dumb and Dumber in a truck, it's just a matter of making it not easy.
So a bike chain and lock to something fixed, or to a stake in the ground.

Oh, and bells are good too.
That's why my backyard doesn't get street people in stealing the recycling.
My gate makes a noise, so they go somewhere that is easier.

Sometimes I think that what I really want is a guard tower and machine gun turrets.
But so far this works.

Here, my latest security add-on.
Take that oh vile and despicable recycling and planter swiping varments.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

26 responses to this post.

  1. I love the old locks. I have a special place in my heart for skeleton keys.

    Reply

  2. awwww. That really sucks.What's your's is your's. I hate how some people just don't get that.Sorry… &:o(

    Reply

  3. But not with real machine guns, right? Right?

    Reply

  4. Ugh… I don't like to stereotype, but it really does seem that college students have a greater propensity to petty theft. When I was in college, my food cupboard was always raided even though my food is usually unappetizing to most people. And I couldn't even go down the hall to take a quick shower in the dorm without locking my room first, because so many people got their laptops stolen by other students. The dorms were locked to outsiders, and most of the students at that college were well-to-do, so why on earth did they go and steal stuff?? It still irks me when I think about it.What on earth would someone else want with a large ceramic pot? That's so infuriating, they didn't even have respect for the flowers inside it. 😦

    Reply

  5. That really bothered me too, how the flowers were dumped out.

    Reply

  6. Ya know, it's pretty freakin' pathetic when you can't even set a planter outside without some doofus stealing it.People are idiots!I want a bazooka for my watch tower!

    Reply

  7. ACK.I just deleted MMB's comment when I thought I was going to reply to it.(Think I need glasses. Or a bigger screen.)I wondered why it asked it I was sure.

    Reply

  8. What Lauri says, maybe a bazooka.I think a single big bang sounds scarier.

    Reply

  9. Not a problem – I remember most of what I said.
    What gets my goat is that my house isn't the nicest in the neighborhood, and there are plenty of folks with much nicer unprotected grills, as well as outdoor furniture, toys, etc. My grill was outside for almost a year, and it gets stolen now? That's just wrong. Poor on Poor crime!

    Reply

  10. Oh, now I remember what I was going to reply to MMB before I went and deleted her.They stole it now because summer's coming, and they want to have a grill. silly.And why you?Lord knows, I don't.(Why me? Same answer.)Or maybe they're stealing from the poor to give to the rich?Lupines, anyone?

    Reply

  11. Dang…. what's the world coming to when we have to chain down our potted plants!! Btw…. I like the locks pic too (no pun intended) 😉

    Reply

  12. Now I have "Dennis Moore" going through my head…and I"m going to have to move both of my $10 resin chairs indoors when I get home – they didn't take them!

    Reply

  13. It is pretty sad when you can't even have a ceramic pot outside, and it's horrible that they dumped the plants out! bastards!
    MMB–they probably thought it was less of a crime if they didn't steal a nicer grill, like it wouldn't be missed, and no one would press charges should they be caught.
    You could put something really greasy or sticky on the outside of the pot as long as you know you won't be moving it or handling it.

    Reply

  14. "No more bloody lupins! The cat's choked to death on them!"I am starting to think that everything I have should have some kind of proximity exploding device on it. So when someone leaves your yard with your bike or lawnmower – it blows up. In my case, it was both – I suspect they rode the bike and pulled the lawnmower behind them down the street (I hope they die under a gas truck, btw, but that's just me) I didn't realize it until I went to mow the grass…

    Reply

  15. Dennis Moore, Dennis Moore, Dum dum dum the night. Thanks a freaking pile, I'll have this in my head all night!We live near a state college (about three blocks away) and if it's not nailed down, it'll be stolen…if it is nailed down, it'll be urinated on (do not touch my lamp post ANYWHERE). I'm going to have a fit if my recycling bin is stolen again!

    Reply

  16. I really like the coating it with something greasy/sticky suggestion. But frustrating would-be thieves can sometimes backfire. I had a boyfriend whose dad's tires got stolen off his sportscar in the driveway. So he put locking wheel nuts on the new set. A few nights later, the car was torched in the driveway, presumably by the a-holes who couldn't get the new set off.

    Reply

  17. When we lived just up the street, our downstairs neighbor was napping one day when a sort of scraping sound at the door woke her.She opens the door to find this kid trying to remove a wreath she had wired to her knocker."What are you doing?" she asks him."I really like your wreath." he says.No sorry, or anything.I put the recycling out in old soap buckets.The buckets walk regularly, but I have plenty more.Everything except the cat food cans — which no one steals — I drive to a recycling center.I just don't feel like feeding streetlife.(Especially after one guy screamed at me when I asked to leave my bottles for the city.)

    Reply

  18. People can be just unbelievable. Hopefully the lock-down discourages them.
    When we lived on the farm (when I was a kid) I planted an evergreen tree (all the kids in my class were given a seedling). It grew to be a lovely tree. After we had moved to the city, the neighbor drove into the yard to check on things one winter day, and discovered that someone had cut down the tree, but a car must have driven by and scared them off, because they left the tree lying in the snow. Guess they wanted a Christmas tree. We were not amused (neither was our neighbor). Gahhhhh.

    Reply

  19. SIGH!Mailboxes are the main victims out here. And, it goes in cycles, depending on which neighbors have teenagers.We had a lovely wooden house mailbox and someone sawed off the 4X4 it was sitting on and left a stump. Bye bye mailbox! I hope you enjoy getting your mail out of something that you didn't even have the cojones to pay for yourself!!!

    Reply

  20. I had this awesome double size red milk crate from Trader Joe's I used for my recycle bin and someone took it one day when I didn't bring the trash cans and recycle bins in quick enough. Yeah, it was only a plastic bin, but I loved that silly little plastic bin.

    Reply

  21. I guess someone liked it.Theft, the sincerest form of flattery.

    Reply

  22. Theft, the sincerest form of flattery.
    Thank you, that made me laugh. I thought that exact thing when it happened.

    Reply

  23. A lot of times in college towns it's either from a dare or because they figure they need things they can't afford on their own, or more likely have spent all their money already on liquor.When I worked at a high-end florist shop in Halifax, I lost count of the number of times we remade wreathes for people who had had theirs stolen from their front door. Of course it always amazed me that people would spend the kind of money we charged in the first place, let alone come back for a replacement.

    Reply

  24. When Mom & Dad were first married, they went out to a grand New Year's Eve party in the town next over. Mom made a beautiful wool coat with a fur collar just for the occassion. (My mom is a phenomenal sewer). She was so proud of it.
    Well, if you've been to a nicer/older establishment in Michigan, there are often coat rooms near the lobby, more than likely unattended. When it was time to leave, her lovely coat was gone and another ladies coat was hanging in its place.
    As she tells it, "Someone decided my coat was nicer than theirs. How flattering to think something I made was worth stealing."
    So yes, she was honored to have her coat stolen. I also get to hear this story every single time we go out to a fancy place in the winter and are hanging up our coats. We ask Mom if she sees her coat on the racks and she'll joke that she should look around and see if there's one worth trading for.

    Reply

  25. This wreath was something she'd made herself.So I guess it was nice that he liked it.She was a feisty old lady who lived in a tiny, rent-controlled studio with the toughest Burmese tomcat you could imagine.She ended up emigrating to New Zealand in about 1980 — where she managed to get in by coming as migrant farm labor (instead of as a lab tech, which was her training).

    Reply

  26. Someone pinched our little Ikea folding table off our front stoop last summer. It was just a cheap thing, but still. We have a big tin planter out there, but we filled it with gravel and then lots of potting soil–it probably weighs 150 pounds. So far, nobody's gone through the trouble of stealing it. Oh well–bad karma will catch up with people like that eventually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

