Which medieval plague do you have?

Congratulations! You have St. Anthony's Fire! Today known Ergotism, this illness is caught
through ingestion of a fungal infection of grain, usually rye. If you are not already, you
soom are going to be suffering from dizziness, hallucinations, and a
sensation of burning in the limbs, thus giving the disease its name. It
could result in gangrene. The good news: there is a 60% chance you will
survive it! The bad news? You will wish you had not. You will have
lingering symptoms for the rest of your life, including mental
impairment and being more susceptible to it in the future rather than
having immunity. You probably live in a rural town undergoing a very
wet winter to have caught this skin-reddening sickness.

656 other people got this result!
This quiz has been taken 6869 times.
28% of people had this result.

Nah, I just have the flu, sore throat, swollen glands, persistent cough, earache and pink eye.
only feels like a medieval plague.

(Kaiser won't even look at me for another week. I'm still just viral.)

It's here:

http://www.quizilla.com/users/maidenfair/quizzes/Which%20Medieval%20Plague%20Do%20Yo

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

24 responses to this post.

  1. Woo hoo! Leprosy! Now THIS is a fun quiz.
    Congratulations! You have Leprosy! One of the trademarks of the Middle Ages, it is actually a hard to catch bacterial infection that you probably caught years ago through respiration. Now that it is making itself known, you have noticed white patches on your skin and numbness in your fingers. Things will only go from bad to worse as more areas become numb, making you prone to hurt yourself without knowing it and thus causing massive infections. The good news is you will be given a free bell or clapper! The bad news is you will need this as you travel the countryside unwanted in rags warning people of your approach.

    Reply

  2. Best. Quiz. Yet.

    Reply

  3. I am the Red Plague, or Smallpox.
    This means that I will leave you scarred for life, which doesn't surprise me at all.

    Reply

  4. I have the Bloody Flux. Ewwwwwwwwwww.

    Reply

  5. *Clanging Free-With-Disease Souvenir Bell*
    HEAR YE, HEAR YE! LT HAS BLOODY FLUX!

    Reply

  6. LT–Eeeewwwwww. [holds nose]Aubs–[LOL! then sobbing]lauowolf–me, too. To hell with the rest of the world, let's hold itchy burning hands and dance, hallucinating, into the sunset together. was I saying something?

    Reply

  7. And we all have different ones too!Who's for a little powdered emerald?

    Reply

  8. That's the cure that I picked! Remind me not to spook your cows or blight your crops – I don't want to be hanged or anything, Lauowolf.

    Reply

  9. i picked powdered emerald too. maybe it gave me the The Plague? i feel so… common.(i agree with LT, this is the best quiz yet!)

    Reply

  10. But MMB, you didn't say what ails you? Or maybe it's not on lauowolf's string. I just can't keep up with everyone's maladies!

    Reply

  11. Ergot?From rye.Oh yessss.

    Reply

  12. I think I posted my buboes on LT's entry – it's hard to think what with this fever and all…

    Reply

  13. yay! i have st. anthony's fire too. i get to skip into the sunset with jaypo and lauowolf!

    Reply

  14. Don't leave out the hallucinations

    Reply

  15. *pouts*
    I wish I had hallucinations
    *picks off clump of dead skin*

    Reply

  16. I had St. Elmo's Fire once, but it just left me feeling bratty and alienated.

    Reply

  17. and mental impairment. oh, wait…

    Reply

  18. you hardly notice it after a while.

    Reply

  19. Aubrey, you don't meanSt. Elmo's fire . . . an electroluminescent coronal discharge caused by the ionization of the air during thunderstorms inside of a strong electric field. Although referred to as "fire", St. Elmo's fire is in fact a low density, relatively low temperature plasma caused by massive atmospheric electrical potential differences which exceed the dielectric breakdown value of air at around 3 megavolts per meter. I hate when that happens.

    Reply

  20. No, no – under the influence of St. Elmo's Fire you are extremely dense.

    Reply

  21. *snert*
    And here I thought she meant she was inhabited by the spirit of Ally Sheedy.

    Reply

  22. Oh crap, this is HEELARIOUS…..I want a disease!!!!

    Reply

  23. Well whaddya know, I have St. Anthony's fire, too. I'll bet it's the goat droppings with honey that did THAT!C'mon girls…let's dance….*ringaround the rosy….*

    Reply

  24. I gave this quiz to people at work and actually did call it St. Elmo's Fire – oops. I wanted to live in Demi Moore's apartment because of the Billy Idol on her wall. 11 is a very impressionable age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

